Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe. My only change was to substitute spicy Italian sausage and I added some ginger and Rosemary. Other than that it was fantastic and tasted even better as a left over. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My husband LOVES the zuppa Tuscani soup at Olive Garden, so I was thrilled when I found this recipe! I must say that I never followed it exactly. Instead, I made mine according to the changes recommended by Jobbly Man (thanks!) It was excellent! The second time I made it, my husband suggested we leave out the bacon. It wasn't missed. This is a regular for us now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
My family enjoyed this meal. Even my kid who doesn't like soup said he could eat it, just isn't his favorite. However, that is better than refusing to eat it!!! I didn't use heavy cream to save on calories. We added a dollop of sour cream to make it seem creamier. Also used mild Italian sausage with gave it so much flavor. We will be making this again. I also cooked the sausage, onions, bacon ahead of time and added the rest of the ingredients to the slow cooker. Then added the bacon,sausage mix to the slow cooker and cooked on high for 3 hrs. I love my slow cooker for busy days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Photo by karsen
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
SO GOOD!!! the only thing I changed was that I used half & half instead of heavy cream. Perfectly seasoned. My husband even liked it and he was sure he'd hate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Semigourmet
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is a really good soup recipe. I did change a few things. I used Trader Joe's organic low sodium chicken broth. in place of water and bouillon. for sodium reasons. also used 1/3 cup bacon bits in place of the 6 slices of bacon. also used 2 cups diced potatoes. I used baby spinach in place of Kale since I had spinach on hand. I changed out the heavy cream for half and half again because I didn't have heavy cream on hand. It is a Great soup. I served with a little Pecorino Romano cheese. I will be making this again, and this time with kale, but will keep all the changes, because I liked it that way. Hubs loves the Olive Garden version , and says that this one is just like it except there is more meat. Thank you for Sharing this soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Photo by Corissa LoBrandon
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My boyfriend and I loved It!!!!!!!!!!! Couldn't find italian sausage at my supermarket to save my life so after about 15 min of looking I just went ahead and went with an italian styled sausage which wasn't like the normail italian sausage you usually see but It was still amazing! I will definately be making this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corissa LoBrandon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
fantastic! we tweaked it a little to suit us (added red pepper flakes, used ground "hot" sausage, little extra bacon)but the recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ulrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love this recipe even more then the restaurants. I add some sage, thyme, and parsley. I also make extra broth and thicken with corn starch. This is my go to on cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monirunner
Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great! I substituted ground beef for sausage, no bacon and added spinach for kale and 2% milk at the end after mashing a few potatoes. Served it with Parmesan cheese and garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Inspired by this recipe. I changed the smoked sausage to Italian Mild, I replaced the Chicken Bouillon and water with Low Sodium Chicken Broth (about 42oz). I browned the Italian sausage in a dutch oven, removed them, drained the dutch oven, added some saved bacon grease, fried the onions for 3 minutes, and garlic for 60 seconds. I then added the broth and sausages. Brought it to a boil then added the potatoes. Let simmer for 45 minutes until the potatoes were done. Added the crumpled bacon, kale,and about 1/2 cup cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Neary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States