"Zuccotto" Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were amazing! I used a regular home-made muffin dough (for 12 muffins: 2.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups white sugar, 5 eggs, 3/4 cups 2 tblsp margerine, 2 tblsp vanilla sugar, 2 tblsp baking powder), melted the chocholate and added some cocoa powder just to make the color more even. As I didn't have any toffee bits at hand and don't like nuts, I simply used the triple amount of raspberries. Oh yeah, and I replaced the butter in the frosting by sour cream, just to soothe my conscience about all the fatty calories :) Chocolaty heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I was looking for a cupcake recipe that would be challenging, fun to do and unique. I found it! My boyfriend and his family absolutely loved them. And this was on the heels of them receiving a batch of professional cupcakes the week prior for a birthday. I highly recommend giving this one a shot. For you creative types, you will discover the versatility of this recipe and all kinds of ways you can make them your own by switching up ingredients. Have fun with this and be ready to wow your consumers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this for my family and they absolutely loved it. I am new at cooking and so for the exception of putting the filling in the middle this was pretty easy. The filling thing I need to practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My wife and I made these cupcakes and it was our very first time making any cupcakes. Dont let it scare you away. ITS WORTH IT !! We followed the recipe except we didnt mix the raspberries in with the filling , instead we filled the hole about a 1/3 of the way with some of the filling, put a raspberry inside and then topped it off with more filling. I love white chocolate, she loves raspberries. It coudlnt have been any better for the two of us. They where so good i actually helped clean the dishes. Thats a first! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by swkatienc
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Every person who tried these fell over him/herself to tell me how amazing they were. One friend requested them for her birthday, another said I should open a bakery, another said they were the best thing she had ever tasted in her life. Needless to say, I think these were a win. For compliments like that, it was totally worth the 3 hours they took to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These cupcakes are amazing. I followed the recipe exactly (well, almost exactly - I didn't use the hazelnuts because I forgot to put them on the grocery list)..I LOVE cupcakes and these have shot to the top of my cupcake list! Make them - you will NOT be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were delicious. It does take a little bit of time, but nothing as intimidating as it sounds. We used a boxed chocolate cake mix with pudding so we didn't add the 6 oz. of chopped chocolate. We didn't use toffee bits or hazelnuts so we added a bit more powdered sugar to the filling. We used a melon baller to core out the middle. We used a reviewer's suggestion of the food processor to mix the ganache - we did so while the cupcakes were baking & cooling so it was perfect texture by the time we filled the middle. Lastly, splurge a little on piping bags & tips (our grovery store sold 4 tips & 20 bags in a set for $3.99) - it makes the process much faster. PS - we used the "left overs" (like the middle of the cupcakes) to make a torte (layer chunks of cupcakes with raspberry cream - alternate & top off with ganache and/or frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is not a quick one, but it's worth it. I made it three ways - cupcakes, mini cupcakes and I baked a 9" round that I split and filled with the whipped cream. I wouldn't recommend doing the cake unless you slice it before you chill the frosting too much. Both layers of frosting get very firm when chilled, which will make them really easy to transport without a lot of damage. The minis came out nicely, and they're rich enough that it's a good bite. I'd probably just do those next time. For the minis though, I'd recommend slicing up fresh raspberries so that it's easier to pipe the cream into them. Makes a really impressive little dessert - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made these for a baby shower! The dad is Italian and their last name starts with a "Z." Zuccotto means "little pumpkin" so I thought that would be appropriate. The filling makes a great mousse all on its own! I would make at least 1/4 less of the frosting next time, and about half the filling! There's too much frosting and filling for 24 cupcakes. Very pretty cake with chocolate flecks. There are several steps, but you can make them in a reasonable amount of time. I used a pastry bag and large French star tip to fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I haven't even finished them yet and I already love them... I've just tried the filling with a chunk of a cupcake that I cute out. Soooo good! Followed the recipe exactly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin - Sarah Wood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States