"Zuccotto" Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Beverly Pauley Ondera
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was really fun to make. A little time consuming but really worth the effort. We used macadamia nuts because our grocery didn't have the hazelnuts. The filling is awesome. We'll be serving this when we want to wow someone:) And like someone else has said we did end up having a lot of icing AND filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
FABULOUS cupcakes! Followed it to a "T" and I can't believe how good they are! It's all about the raspberry/toffee center that gives it the perfect sweetness! Will be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These cupcakes are amazing. I followed the recipe exactly (well, almost exactly - I didn't use the hazelnuts because I forgot to put them on the grocery list)..I LOVE cupcakes and these have shot to the top of my cupcake list! Make them - you will NOT be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is not a quick one, but it's worth it. I made it three ways - cupcakes, mini cupcakes and I baked a 9" round that I split and filled with the whipped cream. I wouldn't recommend doing the cake unless you slice it before you chill the frosting too much. Both layers of frosting get very firm when chilled, which will make them really easy to transport without a lot of damage. The minis came out nicely, and they're rich enough that it's a good bite. I'd probably just do those next time. For the minis though, I'd recommend slicing up fresh raspberries so that it's easier to pipe the cream into them. Makes a really impressive little dessert - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made these for a baby shower! The dad is Italian and their last name starts with a "Z." Zuccotto means "little pumpkin" so I thought that would be appropriate. The filling makes a great mousse all on its own! I would make at least 1/4 less of the frosting next time, and about half the filling! There's too much frosting and filling for 24 cupcakes. Very pretty cake with chocolate flecks. There are several steps, but you can make them in a reasonable amount of time. I used a pastry bag and large French star tip to fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I was looking for a cupcake recipe that would be challenging, fun to do and unique. I found it! My boyfriend and his family absolutely loved them. And this was on the heels of them receiving a batch of professional cupcakes the week prior for a birthday. I highly recommend giving this one a shot. For you creative types, you will discover the versatility of this recipe and all kinds of ways you can make them your own by switching up ingredients. Have fun with this and be ready to wow your consumers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this for my family and they absolutely loved it. I am new at cooking and so for the exception of putting the filling in the middle this was pretty easy. The filling thing I need to practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were amazing! I used a regular home-made muffin dough (for 12 muffins: 2.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups white sugar, 5 eggs, 3/4 cups 2 tblsp margerine, 2 tblsp vanilla sugar, 2 tblsp baking powder), melted the chocholate and added some cocoa powder just to make the color more even. As I didn't have any toffee bits at hand and don't like nuts, I simply used the triple amount of raspberries. Oh yeah, and I replaced the butter in the frosting by sour cream, just to soothe my conscience about all the fatty calories :) Chocolaty heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States