"Zuccotto" Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
AMAZING! The most work-intensive cupcakes, but so many levels of flavor and experience, they were well worth it. Honestly, if you are short an ingredient on this one, don't sweat it - so much going on that they can take it. The family absolutely loved that every time they took a bite was another surprise. PS - This recipe makes way more frosting than you need, unless you pile it on high enough to make a 2-story cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Holy smokes! Quite honestly, the most impressive cupcake I've ever eaten! Two people I used as taste-testers thought they were "professional" cupcakes...and demanded to know where I got them. (I LURVE that!) Now the downside..they are a PITA to make. However, it's worth the trouble for the bragging rights. :) I followed the directions to a T, although I made the actual "cake" part the day before, as well as the chopping, so I could streamline filling/topping/eating. As another reviewer posted, when piping in the whipped cream filling, it's best to use a regular storage bag rather than a pastry bag due to the chunky filling. The cream cheese and butter NEED to be at room temp or the white chocolate mixture will start to solidify. I used a previous poster's suggestion to make a mini trifle using the leftover cupcake/other mixtures. Plenty of leftover whipped filling and frosting...if you want to do the trifle you'll need a bit more ganache. I feel that the frosting needs something...not quite sure what..but overall, the textures coming together are fabulous...so 9.9 stars instead of 10. Thanks for sharing, Kayla, and thanks for all the detailed instructions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe requires ten stars. Wow! The filling is too delicious for words! It was funny to watch people's expression when they bit into the cupcake. It was as though their taste buds had just struck gold. For example, my daughter was talking non-stop about her weekend, cupcake in hand. She stopped mid-sentence to take a bite of the cupcake. Then, she gasped, "Oh my God. This is delicious!" . . . She lost her train of thought. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Followed this recipe almost exactly. Only used fresh raspberries instead of frozen. These are the most delicious cupcakes I have ever had. They are very time consuming, but absolutely amazing. If you don't have a pastry bag for the filling or frosting, scoop it into a freezer bag, clip the corner, and squeeze. Thank you for sharing, Kayla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovelysasha@gmail.com
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These cupcakes came out amazing!!! Best I've ever tasted even at the fancy NY bakeries. The instructions are very clear and easy to follow. Thank you so much for this recipe it made Mother's Day this year extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were delicious. It does take a little bit of time, but nothing as intimidating as it sounds. We used a boxed chocolate cake mix with pudding so we didn't add the 6 oz. of chopped chocolate. We didn't use toffee bits or hazelnuts so we added a bit more powdered sugar to the filling. We used a melon baller to core out the middle. We used a reviewer's suggestion of the food processor to mix the ganache - we did so while the cupcakes were baking & cooling so it was perfect texture by the time we filled the middle. Lastly, splurge a little on piping bags & tips (our grovery store sold 4 tips & 20 bags in a set for $3.99) - it makes the process much faster. PS - we used the "left overs" (like the middle of the cupcakes) to make a torte (layer chunks of cupcakes with raspberry cream - alternate & top off with ganache and/or frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Tasted good, liked how the flavors came together. Probably could have made a better cupcake with less ingredients and way less time. Also, it was kind of expensive for all the ingredients. Taste was different and rich. Probably would not make again only because of the price and time. Overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These cupcakes take a lot of work, but are so good! If you follow the recipe as it is you will end up with almost twice as much frosting as you really need...but that's an easy fix- just halve the amount of ingredients you need for the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewsar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I didn't use hazlenut(because of allergies) but this was an amzing cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Absolutely fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States