"Zuccotto" Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have a question: So I got wayyyy too tired trying to do all this last night, so I decided to save the last step - icing/filling the cupcakes - for today. Except now, my icing is hard, and my ganache is a little on the thicker side, too. Would it be dangerous to microwave or warm it up on the stove somehow? Or will that ruin both items? What to do!!! I've never had this issue with regular homemade icing before. Anyone who can help, please respond to: jessilou191@yahoo.com THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These were sooooo good! Takes a long time to make but soooo worth it! Would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Did I do something wrong? I had a least a cup of filling left over, I could have used 3/4 cup more of ganache and I nearly had double the amount of frosting I needed! They tasted great though. Mine did not look like the photo at all, unfortunately. I did add a lot of white food coloring to the frosting, but it still was a light cream color. I will definitely make these again, but tweak the amounts, use large cupcake papers (to better cover the cupcakes with frosting), and I'll add fresh raspberries to the ingredient list for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Well, I must say I was disappointed. I also follow a recipe exactly the first time before I start tweaking. For some reason I didn't think the flavors came together well and seemed to lack a focal point. Overall a good recipe but there was no punch--maybe because there were so many flavors nothing seemed to stand out. All the fine chopping for the bittersweet chocolate in the cupcakes was totally lost in any flavor--looked pretty, but you couldn't taste the chocolate bits. Filling was okay, would add a lot more of the toffee bits to step it up a notch. The ganache was the easiest I ever made but wasn't a standout. And last, the frosting...didn't do it for me either. It seems each section (the cupcake, filling, ganache, and frosting) were good on their own, it just didn't come together well. Although there were a ton of flavors, the cupcake seemed boring. Was not worth the cost of ingredients or time. Was fun to make but will keep searching for an amazing cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Best cupcake I've ever made. Its now my go to and everybody I make them for loves them. I like to serve mine cold and the frosting is the best frosting to use on any cupcake or cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These cupcakes are worth all the work. I made them for new years and they didn't last for more than 5 days! They are very rich, chocolaty, and all together delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These cupcakes are crazy. You take a bite and you don't even know whats happening, but its good! The only thing I did was make my own cake, I can't bring myself to put a box cake in my belly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I love this recipe! I made the filing, frosting and ganache before I even started the cupcakes, so it was all prepared when the cupcakes were cooled. I couldnt find a box cake with pudding so I just bought a yellow box cake because I really like yellow cake (still followed the ingredients from this recipe, not the one on the box), nor could I find chocolate covered toffee bits to save my life, so I bought those heath candy bars and crushed those up real nice. I dont think I let the white chocolate cool enough before I added it to the frosting because my frosting was a bit on the soft side(even after refrigerating for about 30 min.). I also just pushed a piping bag into the center of the cupcakes and filled them that way instead of pre-cutting a hole. This recipe was fantastic, I love to bake and I was looking for something creative and this was the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Really good recipe - although I likely won't use raspberries in the filling going forward and find something else. But these were loved otherwise, my husband ate 4 before 8 am! Will make it again, but it its intensive and needs a lot of time to prep and complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States