"Zuccotto" Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Delicious! A+++++ I would love to know though, how did you got your frosting on so beautifully? Any tips would be helpful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie62
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
These are divine! I made them the night before and popped them in the freezer on a sheet tray, uncovered. I pulled them out at 7 a.m. and let thaw on the counter. No problem with condensation and they were ready to eat by 11 a.m. (thawed four hours.) I used tall, brown cupcake liners which was a good choice since the ganache was still thin when I put it on and the liners held it in place. The liners also made it easy to pull the cupcakes out the pans when done baking -- and transportation was a breeze since I didn't have to worry about the tops bumping each other. I loved the bittersweet chocolate in the white cake. YUM! The filling is really good. Next time I'll add more crushed Heath bars. The toasted hazelnuts were good, but any toasted nut would work. The raspberries added just a touch of freshness (even though they were frozen.) The white chocolate frosting was yummy, but needed a bit of powdered sugar added. I had a bit of trouble piping through an XL star tip -- must have gotten a chunk of hardened chocolate off the bowl, so next time I'll be more careful of that or just use a large round tip. I sprinkled the top with more Heath - pretty! And my daughter made little Italian flags which were the perfect topper as these were headed to an Italian-themed, Freshman finale lunch. I will definitely make these again and again, and since these can be made ahead of time, the four hour prep won't be a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This is my favorite cupcake. Nothing else compares. Yet, it is very labor-intensive. But, if you want to wow people, this is the cupcake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnn Fessenden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These were sooooo good! Takes a long time to make but soooo worth it! Would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Did I do something wrong? I had a least a cup of filling left over, I could have used 3/4 cup more of ganache and I nearly had double the amount of frosting I needed! They tasted great though. Mine did not look like the photo at all, unfortunately. I did add a lot of white food coloring to the frosting, but it still was a light cream color. I will definitely make these again, but tweak the amounts, use large cupcake papers (to better cover the cupcakes with frosting), and I'll add fresh raspberries to the ingredient list for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Well, I must say I was disappointed. I also follow a recipe exactly the first time before I start tweaking. For some reason I didn't think the flavors came together well and seemed to lack a focal point. Overall a good recipe but there was no punch--maybe because there were so many flavors nothing seemed to stand out. All the fine chopping for the bittersweet chocolate in the cupcakes was totally lost in any flavor--looked pretty, but you couldn't taste the chocolate bits. Filling was okay, would add a lot more of the toffee bits to step it up a notch. The ganache was the easiest I ever made but wasn't a standout. And last, the frosting...didn't do it for me either. It seems each section (the cupcake, filling, ganache, and frosting) were good on their own, it just didn't come together well. Although there were a ton of flavors, the cupcake seemed boring. Was not worth the cost of ingredients or time. Was fun to make but will keep searching for an amazing cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Best cupcake I've ever made. Its now my go to and everybody I make them for loves them. I like to serve mine cold and the frosting is the best frosting to use on any cupcake or cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These cupcakes are worth all the work. I made them for new years and they didn't last for more than 5 days! They are very rich, chocolaty, and all together delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These cupcakes are crazy. You take a bite and you don't even know whats happening, but its good! The only thing I did was make my own cake, I can't bring myself to put a box cake in my belly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Franklin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States