Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Used the basic idea of the recipe, but changed it up. Sauteed CHOPPED onion, carrot, garlic, mushrooms, chickpeas, and zucchini insides. I didn't want the seasonings, as I've recently had a meal with those same seasonings. Decided to add some moisture and flavor by adding into the saute 1/2 water plus a scoop of chicken bouillon. Microwaved the hollowed squash and chopped potatoes (6 min each) in the microwave so I would have a head start on the cook process. Placed stuffed zucchini (with chopped potatoes around the sides with a little lemon pepper seasoning on them) in a covered dish and cooked 30 minutes. The stuffing held together and everything was nicely done. It was a tasty meal in one dish. When I am not burnt out on the recipe spices, I will try them. Fabulous meal that really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsgyardley
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Delicious! Great use of zucchini bats. Some possible additions: feta or chèvre, tomatoes, almonds or sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Really fantadtic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The zucchinis were hard to keep in tact, but the presentation was great and everything was ultimately delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. Could have had more garlic and I used two huge cloves for this preparation. Also, stuffing the zucchini was difficult. Will try using a food processor next time, as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was so tasty!! Just a note though -- get the largest zucchini you can and use a melon baller. I used teeny zucchini and while it was easy to eat, they were hard to stuff and chickpeas were rolling everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefMina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Too Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Creative dish. Used only 1/4 tsp. coriander for my preference. Seasonings smelled like felafel when cooking. I felt like it needed something, so I offered plain yogurt and a RED SAUCE to serve atop (one 15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes OR one can pureed diced, 1-2 Tbs. of red wine vinegar, two minced/pressed garlic cloves, salt and red pepper flakes to taste). This sauce is used on another Egyptian dish, kushari. I will try Arabic pepper in the filling next time for more complexity, which will taste more Mid-Eastern. Israeli couscous accompanied this nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used 1/4 teaspoon of coriander and about 8 ounces chickpeas. I melted italian cheese over a couple for my non vegetarian family memebers. Everyone loved it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
im always looking for ways to use chickpeas and loved this recipe. The flavor was good. Next time I'll add a little less chickpeas and more veggies like diced tomatoes and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States