Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
It had very interesting taste. I served it with cous-cous. I used less than half of zucchini flesh. Next time I will use more mushrooms, zucchini flesh and lemon juice and less chick peas. Thank you, Jackie, for an interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. Easy to make and soooo tasty. I served it with saffron rice, and it was delish!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
awesome! a definite crowd pleaser. the recipe made too much stuffing, but i drizzled it over the zucchini when i served it! everyone loved it! i would def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Dished turned out almost perfect. I added just a touch of fresh grated parmesan cheese inside the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Okay, I'm going to rate this on the overall flavors of the dish, since my preparation ended up being waaaaaay different that suggested, due to my inability to properly scoop the zucchini meat out. I ended up trying to chop up the zucchini in the blender with some tomatoes, but I accidentally set it on liquefy instead of chop, and ended up with zuccini in applesauce consistency. ooops. So I added it in with the chickpeas, onions and spices (I left out the mushrooms). I added some chili powder and poured it all over some white rice and baked it. It would have been good, except there wasn't quite enough liquid to make all of the rice cook. Half of it was, but the rice up top was still hard. Still, I picked around those pieces just to taste how it came out, and the flavors of the spices with eveything were quite good, so I'm sure if I would have prepared this dish as it is listed, it would have been quite tasty. So if you choose to do something like I did, make sure you add some extra water to the dish so that all the rice cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very healthy! Can do without so much cumin but is great with the chickpeas. Goes well with a side of chicken and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This dish is definately a new favorite! Really simple, and SO tasty! I used a melon baller to remove the flesh from the zucchini with ease and had the excess stuffing in pita bread for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I liked it. Made it twice already, but the second time I didn't have mushrooms so I used onions and carrots. Hardly used any zucchini as part of the stuffing though. I dislike how it all seems to fall apart in the end, but maybe it is just me. The zucchini's I've used were fairly small though. It looks very pretty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I'm sorry, but I just didn't care for this recipe. I found the cumin overpowering and I didn't care for the chick peas. Might like it better if I reduced the amount of cumin that the recipe calls for. My husband enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
As recommended by previous reviewers, I used less cumin in this recipe (1/2 teaspoon). With this change, the zucchini wasn't overwhelmed and the mix of flavors was really tasty. Thank you for this recipe; i'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States