Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This dish was unexpectedly delicious. Following the advice of another reviewer, I chopped the zucchini innards and chick peas in my food processor (left the mushrooms whole). I think pureeing the chick peas is key to keep their flavor from being too concentrated and overwhelming. I also added only one tsp. of cumin. Topped with queso fresco (mexican cheese), and this made a perfect, low-calorie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I enjoyed this especially because it is healthy, but it was also tasty and flavorful. My husband doesn't like zucchini, but he ate a portion anyway. I baked this covered with foil for 20 minutes then removed the foil, sprinkled some parmesan on top, and baked it another 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I served this on top of spaghetti with this sauce recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Arrabbiata-Sauce/Detail.aspx and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
The first time I made this as written and that's why I gave it 2 star. But then I went off the advice of some other reviewers; I added chopped roasted red pepper, grated parmesan and Italian style bread crumbs to the stuffing. I also roughly chopped the chickpeas for improved stuffing texture. I omitted the coriander, and as much as I usually enjoy cumin, I did not care for the flavor with this dish. When I made it more Italian-style, omitting the cumin and adding Italian seasoning and topping with a dallop of tomato sauce, my husband and I found it MUCH more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Don't know what went wrong as I followed the recipe exactly. We ate some of it and through the rest out. Didn't seem to have much flavour and the texture was odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I was pleasantly surprised. My meat and potatoes husband even liked it. We added tomato sauce made from scratch, and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This dish was absolutely one of the best. I added roasted red pepper and omitted coriander since I don't have any. I might add more lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Casella Brinkley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is better than most stuffed zucchini receipts. It is not as heavy as most and has the flavors my family likes best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe. I stirred the parsley in at the end of the saute process. You could use this as a vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was an excellent dish. I believe it would also be good with spinach and feta cheese or with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States