Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I didn't have any plum tomatoes, so left those out and added one chopped vine tomato. Used juice of a whole lemon, lovely. Ran out of coriander, so used a little extra cumin and s&p. I tasted the mixture in the pan before I filled the zucchini, and it was delicious. However, the end product wasn't that sensational. I think the sauteed mixture would have tasted better just poured over rice, but perhaps it dried out a bit too much in the oven. I actually had leftovers in the pan after stuffing, which I added rice to. When I asked my boyfriend if he liked the meal, he said he really liked the rice but didn't comment on the zucchini. I thought zucchini tasted fine, just not sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Sadly, this recipe did not go over well at our house. The "stuffing" isn't held together at all so eating it was awkward. The flavors didn't seem to meld together. The best word we could come up with for it was "odd". I'm glad others liked it but it wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very healthy and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Did not enjoy this meal one little bit! (I might have over cooked it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is pretty good. Don't forget the lemon juice... I did and I thought something was missing but I couldn't put my finger on it until a re-read the ingredients list. Also, instead of making zucchini boats like the recipe instructs, I just sliced the zucchini using my food processor. I then mixed the cooked mushroom/chickpea mixture in with raw zucchini in a baking pan and baked the "stuffing" as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Good vegetable dish. Didn't have the chick peas, but I increased the onions & mushrooms, (used fresh mushrooms). Also added some garlic and parmesan cheese on top. Cover during cooking, then uncover for just a few minutes to brown, this keeps it a bit moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I sprinkled some grated pamesan on the shells, added a splash of balsalmic vinegar to the mixture, and topped it with some oregano before baking. Overall, it was very good but very dry. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Wow,this was delicious! I loved it! I didn't have any corriander or lemon, but used lemon pepper! This is going to be a recipe used a lot in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
We really liked this recipe but found it to be a lot of work. The second time we made this we just chopped the zucchini into 3/8 inch slices and, after sauteeing the mushrooms/onions, we added everything else into the saucepan, covered on low until zucchini were done, and served it with rice. We can't wait to make it again, it was so fast and the perfect combination of flavors (and cheap too!). As a note, we've never had parsley on hand, so both times we've used intead a small handful of "mixed herbs" (basil, oregano, sage, etc...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
The chickpeas dried out too much in the oven. The overall flavor was lacking for our family and I didn't have the urge to change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States