Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were simple and great! I really like the fresh flavor of the zucchini with the texture of the chick peas. A little hard to eat when you don't halve the zucchini, especially if it's a long one! Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xjupitercrashx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
more onions/mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is a great, healthy recipe. The zucchini boats would make nice side items, and my husband and I even ate them as the main course. As one reviewer already stated, the secret is in pureeing the filling before baking in the zucchini shells. I used my Magic Bullet to puree the cooked filling. It was so good, even my 2-year-old daughter ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I didn't have any plum tomatoes, so left those out and added one chopped vine tomato. Used juice of a whole lemon, lovely. Ran out of coriander, so used a little extra cumin and s&p. I tasted the mixture in the pan before I filled the zucchini, and it was delicious. However, the end product wasn't that sensational. I think the sauteed mixture would have tasted better just poured over rice, but perhaps it dried out a bit too much in the oven. I actually had leftovers in the pan after stuffing, which I added rice to. When I asked my boyfriend if he liked the meal, he said he really liked the rice but didn't comment on the zucchini. I thought zucchini tasted fine, just not sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Sadly, this recipe did not go over well at our house. The "stuffing" isn't held together at all so eating it was awkward. The flavors didn't seem to meld together. The best word we could come up with for it was "odd". I'm glad others liked it but it wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very healthy and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Did not enjoy this meal one little bit! (I might have over cooked it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is pretty good. Don't forget the lemon juice... I did and I thought something was missing but I couldn't put my finger on it until a re-read the ingredients list. Also, instead of making zucchini boats like the recipe instructs, I just sliced the zucchini using my food processor. I then mixed the cooked mushroom/chickpea mixture in with raw zucchini in a baking pan and baked the "stuffing" as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Good vegetable dish. Didn't have the chick peas, but I increased the onions & mushrooms, (used fresh mushrooms). Also added some garlic and parmesan cheese on top. Cover during cooking, then uncover for just a few minutes to brown, this keeps it a bit moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I sprinkled some grated pamesan on the shells, added a splash of balsalmic vinegar to the mixture, and topped it with some oregano before baking. Overall, it was very good but very dry. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States