Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ChefMina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Too Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Creative dish. Used only 1/4 tsp. coriander for my preference. Seasonings smelled like felafel when cooking. I felt like it needed something, so I offered plain yogurt and a RED SAUCE to serve atop (one 15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes OR one can pureed diced, 1-2 Tbs. of red wine vinegar, two minced/pressed garlic cloves, salt and red pepper flakes to taste). This sauce is used on another Egyptian dish, kushari. I will try Arabic pepper in the filling next time for more complexity, which will taste more Mid-Eastern. Israeli couscous accompanied this nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used 1/4 teaspoon of coriander and about 8 ounces chickpeas. I melted italian cheese over a couple for my non vegetarian family memebers. Everyone loved it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
im always looking for ways to use chickpeas and loved this recipe. The flavor was good. Next time I'll add a little less chickpeas and more veggies like diced tomatoes and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
We thought it was lacking in flavor. It needs some sort of sauce, cheese on top, etc. Very healthy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
We all loved this just the way the recipe was written, no adjustments needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
really tasty, but the filling doesn't hold very well. I tried to use feta as a "binder" and it helped. Its a really cute idea and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Great dish- healthy, easy, and inexpensive to make. I added sun dried tomatoes and topped it with feta before serving. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Our entire family including our 11 month old and 3 1/2 year old loved this dish. We used one giant zucchini from our garden picked the day before. I followed this recipe exactly except I used 3/4 tsp coriander and 1 1/4 tsp cumin and used a leek instead of an onion. I did use the entire can of chickpeas. I took other's advice and pureed half of the mixture in the blender since i didn't have a Cuisinart. The only thing I would mention is our mixture was really wet so it probably would have been fine without blending half. It made it a little like a paste and had the texture of dahl but we still really liked it. I topped it with some parmesan the last 15 minutes or so of baking. For our 11 month old I blended the mixture before I added all the salt and he LOVED it. Our 3 1/2 year old scooped out all the filling and then ate some of the zucchini cut up. Overall a success! Oh and I covered it with foil for about half of the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was tasty but I thought the cumin over powered the other flavors. I only put 1 teaspoon, but I think next time I'll just put half or none at all. Good budget friendly recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States