Zucchini for Lunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was very tasty! Made for an enjoyable lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Zucchini for Lunch Haiku: "Eggs an after-thought. Tomato sauce was wierd too. Unusual dish." Well, I salvaged my leftovers by mixing them into omelets for the next day's breakfast, b/c the 2 eggs in this just got lost amongst the veggies. The scrambled egg & tomato sauce became a kind of clumpy shade of "brain" pink, making this not the most attractive meal, but it was a great way to use the chubby zucchini that I'd just plucked from the garden. If I made this again, I'd swap tomato sauce for diced tomato, add minced garlic, S&P (I had to eat mine w/ considerable splashes of Sriracha due to its ho-hum taste), and increase the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was really good, but I made several changes. First off, I sauteed garlic and onion in olive oil, when that browned I added one small zucchini and one small summer squash, chopped. I didn't have a red pepper, but I did add a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. This added a nice smoky flavor, along with a little heat. I used egg whites and salsa instead of the tomato sauce, I didn't have any... Then when it was all done I topped with a little shredded cheddar cheese. Ummm Ummm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I really liked this for a quick light healthy lunch! I did make a couple changes and additions though. I used olive oilinstead of vegetable oil, a green pepper instead of red, and 3 green onions instead of a regular onion. I also only used the whites of the eggs. I added a serrano pepper, 5 halved cherry tomatoes, and 2 tablespoons of low fat cottage cheese. The sauce was a bit too much for me, so next time i will minus the cherry tomatoes and use a can of diced or stewed tomatoes as the sauce. I also topped it with a bit of shredded Dubliner cheese! This recipe was a great basis to start from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrica
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was quick, easy and tasty. I made a few changes - used tofu instead of eggs and added some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I've been making a form of this for years, but I never considered adding eggs! Great idea! I try to eat low-carb, therefore, I don't eat bread. This is a great lunch idea. Can also top with some cheese! I usually add mushrooms, too, or whatever fresh veggies I have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I didnt find this to be ugly looking at all, in fact I thought it was very pretty looking. I didn't however care for the taste. The favors didn't really blend or go together much, and I found it to be a bit bland, even with the addition of some garlic & black pepper. Not a waste of my ingredients or time, but nothing some craving to have again either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I used mushrooms instead of onions/peppers and olive oil instead of vegetable. Used leftover spaghetti sauce flavored with meat. Sprinkled a little parmesan on top. REALLY good and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was a differnt way of making zucchini forsure but it was good. A little bland so I added salt and pepper. next time I will had in fresh minched garlic to give it a kick. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
delicious mush, and only 10 minutes to make. i added chopped garlic and crushed red pepper to the eggs. also, used less tomato sauce, but added a chopped tomato at the same time. it may not look like much, but it's a great tummy filler when that's all you have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States