Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yummy...I made one mini change and that was that I cut my zucchini into long slices instead of coin sized pieces, drizzled a little olive oil, sea salt and pepper and roasted in the oven instead of pan frying them. What a tasty dish....fresh basil is a must. So light and tasty. Thanks for a great side dish. I also used roma tomatoes which got super sweet as this dish cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is fantastic! So easy to put together and so fresh tasting. I have a smaller casserole pan than a 9x13, so I used 3 ripe-on-the-vine tomatoes, 3 small zucchini and 8oz of mozzarella. I layered zucchini on the bottom, followed by the cheese, and then the tomatoes topped with dried basil and parmesan. I added the garlic only in the final minute of sauteeing the zucchini so it wouldnt burn. One tip: if you remove the seeds from the tomatoes, it will eliminate the extra juice. This is so, so good and totally a keeper. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Everyone really enjoyed this recipe! I made it exactly as written except to add more fresh basil (I probably used about 1/4 cup total). It had a delicious flavor and lovely presentation. I look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! Made this Christmas eve for 15 people and it was the hit of dinner! The only thing I need to work out is not having as much tomato juice at the bottom of the pan, but will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmanov1208

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was excellent. I served it as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
YUM! Made this more like a layered lasagna. Roasted the zuchnni and garlic/olive oil in the oven for a while to brown the bottoms, then did layers with the tomatoes, basil, and very light cheese. Topped off with some parm and breadcrumbs. WINNER! My mom asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious as it is. A possible twist could be to add some blue cheese - different flavour for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
very good stuff! after a trial run prior to bird day, i made a couple small changes. i fried about 6 pieces of bacon, fried some onion and the garlic in the butter and some bacon grease then proceeded with the recipe. i'll add more bacon next time. i crumbled the bacon and covered with the cheeses. big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Good recipe, only change I did and would suggest is to skip fying the zucchini in oil first. I found it to be too greasy. So while the first batch was just about done in the oil, and to salvage this, I put the rest of the sliced zucchini in bowl and microwaved for 2 minutes to slightly soften. THEN followed directions about layering and baking. VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a very good recipe to use up your crops of zucchini however it is very time consuming if you are a working mom like me this is not for week nights dinner unless you were off the whole day and could of started at early enough time.This being said it was good recipe we enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Quick and easy individual au gratin potatoes prepared in a muffin tin.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States