Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I used more garlic and added it after I turned the zucchini, right before I put it in the casserole, thus just sauteeing it till soft and not crunchy. I used 4 cloves of garlic and put 2 in after each of two batches of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Delicious! Only change was to use a combination of grated fontina cheese and mozzarella because I was cleaning out the fridge. Zucchini, tomato and basil were all fresh from the garden. Lovely to look at and perfect balance of yummy summer flavors! I served as a side to pasta with olive oil, garlic and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was wonderful! I had to make something for a pot-luck last night. I didn't have time to go to the store, but I have a garden producing lots of zucchini and tomatoes. I didn't have mozzarella, but I had pepper jack cheese. I did have enough time to salt and drain the zucchini, and I'm glad I did. I have found zucchini recipes to get really WET. This was just perfect! I got so many wonderful complements! I am definitely making this again.... there is still a lot of summer left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol P
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe. Fresh tomatoes & basil make it a hit. I definitely recommend salting & drying the zucchini. I chopped up the ends of the tomato, left over basil, parm & garlic and sprinkled on top before baking. Delicious! A definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was very good. Light and refreshing side. All my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Pretty darn good! I would've given five stars except I felt a little guilty each time I ate a big glob of delicious cheese, kinda made me feel like the dish wasn't as healthy as I would have liked, but in terms of taste, very good! I made the recipe exactly as stated, though I didn't take the time to stack everything in as nice of layers since we were getting pretty hungry and the rest of dinner was coming together more quickly. I had the zucchini on top, which were then covered with the parm and basil, I think this was a good choice because of the three main ingredients, the zucchini is the most bland to me, so it was good to know every bite of it was spiced up a bit. I will probably make this again, though slice the cheese even thinner or perhaps cut back a bit so I don't feel so guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yummy...I made one mini change and that was that I cut my zucchini into long slices instead of coin sized pieces, drizzled a little olive oil, sea salt and pepper and roasted in the oven instead of pan frying them. What a tasty dish....fresh basil is a must. So light and tasty. Thanks for a great side dish. I also used roma tomatoes which got super sweet as this dish cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is fantastic! So easy to put together and so fresh tasting. I have a smaller casserole pan than a 9x13, so I used 3 ripe-on-the-vine tomatoes, 3 small zucchini and 8oz of mozzarella. I layered zucchini on the bottom, followed by the cheese, and then the tomatoes topped with dried basil and parmesan. I added the garlic only in the final minute of sauteeing the zucchini so it wouldnt burn. One tip: if you remove the seeds from the tomatoes, it will eliminate the extra juice. This is so, so good and totally a keeper. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Everyone really enjoyed this recipe! I made it exactly as written except to add more fresh basil (I probably used about 1/4 cup total). It had a delicious flavor and lovely presentation. I look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States