Zucchini and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I made a few changes, and it turned out EXCELLENT! 1) I didnt have dill weed, so I used 1 tsp minced garlic, and some oregano. 2) I didnt use a steam basket. I just put zuchinni in pan with some water, and covered for about 5-7 minutes. 3) I put in oven for the 30 minutes, uncovered... than I baked for additional 5 minutes, covered... it didnt come out to watery like other reviews. Will definitely make again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
this dish was delish! I added Italian bread crumbs and more cheese at the end and baked for about 10 more minutes. I also used Mozzerella cheese instead of Ramano. This is something I will definately be making again and telling my friends about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I used fresh zucchini and ripe tomatoes from my garden. The recipie did not have enough flavor for me and too much water drained from the vegetables and ruined the texture. Maybe if you inserted a rack into the pan to allow vegetables to drain during baking, it would improve the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I really liked the base ingredients, but I'm not fond of steamed zucchini. Instead of steaming, I sauteed them with yellow pepper and onions in the margarine and dill and once they were tender, I put the mix in a pie plate (I only did a half recipe) and then put the tomatoes on and the cheese, which I used mozerella instead too. It turned out fabulous so I wanted to share!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is scrumptious! I like dill but was reluctant about putting it in this dish...but I tried it and it was delicious! I used 1 large zucchini and one summer squash, steamed them and then put them in a glass pie plate. I then melted 1 TBs of butter and added one TBS of dried dill and fresh cracked pepper. I tossed the zucchini in it and put the tomatoes on top of with parmesan and fresh basil. It was a nice herby mellow flavor. Not overpowering at all. Very nice presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I slice the zucchini width-wise about 1/2 inch thick and saute them with pam spray and add italian seasoning on each side. Then I put them on the bottom of a casserole dish, slice tomatoes from my garden on top and add more italian seasoning. I use parmesan cheese on top. I now make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was very good. I used all basil because my basil plants are thriving while my dill doesn't seem to be dealing well with the heat! I'm not sure if we would have liked it as much with dill. I also added a crushed clove of garlic to the zucchini. Both my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it, but next time I think I will use half Romano and half Parmesan. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I loved this recipe! I loved the different seasons in it. The dill played wonderfully with the basil. I used cheddar cheese, because that's all I had but the next time I make it I will follow the recipe... I also like the idea of adding Parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Like this recipe says, you can play with it a lot. I used one fewer zucchini (3 instead of 4), left out the dill, used dried basil because I didn't have any fresh on hand, and used Parmesan cheese instead of Romano. I don't think I'd ever add dill, but I would try other combos. This veggie dish was so good that I served in its juices with a good bread, and that alone made a perfect summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great, simple recipe. Next time I'm adding more dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States