Zucchini and Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family absolutely loves this recipe. The only thing I do differently is I cut the water in half. Otherwise, exactly as stated in the recipe. With fresh zucchini from our garden, this is a fantastic recipe. We like our sauce a little sweet, so we don't mind the added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It was alright. Nothing outstanding, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe came out pretty good! I only used 1 Tbsp of olive oil, omitted the sugar and the water. There is no reason to add water here, it's much better a nice and thick sauce. I also added some fresh tomatoes, basil and cooked for only 30 minutes because I wanted the vegetables nice and tender. Served over whole wheat pasta shells. Next time I want to try a little more "cheesy", some mozzarella and extra Romano. Thanks for the recipe I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had already shredded my zucchini before finding this recipe. I added some chicken which I sautéed at the beginning with the onion. I followed the advice of others and halved the amount of sugar. The whole family enjoyed and I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
WOW WAAAAAYYY to much sugar! I love sugar and have a really big sweet tooth but gosh. Hubby said he could feel the diabetes starting. This was super easy to make and would have been really good except for the sugar. I served it with mini meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was pretty good! I doubled the recipe, but cut down the amount of water to maybe 3/4 cup because we like a thicker sauce. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup total. I also left the amount of oil the same instead of doubling that. I added the zucchini last and only simmered it for about 30 minutes. We like our zucchini to keep a bit of crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the recipe and used a bottle of spaghetti sauce in place of the tomato sauce. I omitted the sugar and cut the water down because I wanted it to be thicker. Also, I had some sliced mushrooms to use up, so I threw them in there as well. This was very tasty and hearty, yet light. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is fresh tasting, sweet, & spicy - had a hard time stopping myself from getting additional helpings... Instead of the tomato sauce, I used a can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and then only water as needed. Half the amount of sugar was plenty! When I have fresh garden tomatoes, I'll use those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Not bad. Like others, I had lots of zucchini around, and I was tired of making zucchini muffins. I doubled the recipe but only used 2 TBS of oil. I also used a 26-ounce can of spaghetti sauce and a can of diced tomatoes. I omitted the sugar altogether. It was good, but much better when I used an emersion blender to puree some of the zucchini up. I might make it again, I might not. Neither my husband nor my daughter were thrilled, but I did find it a nice change. Thanks for sharing, FABA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States