Zucchini and Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It was alright. Nothing outstanding, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe came out pretty good! I only used 1 Tbsp of olive oil, omitted the sugar and the water. There is no reason to add water here, it's much better a nice and thick sauce. I also added some fresh tomatoes, basil and cooked for only 30 minutes because I wanted the vegetables nice and tender. Served over whole wheat pasta shells. Next time I want to try a little more "cheesy", some mozzarella and extra Romano. Thanks for the recipe I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had already shredded my zucchini before finding this recipe. I added some chicken which I sautéed at the beginning with the onion. I followed the advice of others and halved the amount of sugar. The whole family enjoyed and I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
WOW WAAAAAYYY to much sugar! I love sugar and have a really big sweet tooth but gosh. Hubby said he could feel the diabetes starting. This was super easy to make and would have been really good except for the sugar. I served it with mini meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was pretty good! I doubled the recipe, but cut down the amount of water to maybe 3/4 cup because we like a thicker sauce. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup total. I also left the amount of oil the same instead of doubling that. I added the zucchini last and only simmered it for about 30 minutes. We like our zucchini to keep a bit of crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the recipe and used a bottle of spaghetti sauce in place of the tomato sauce. I omitted the sugar and cut the water down because I wanted it to be thicker. Also, I had some sliced mushrooms to use up, so I threw them in there as well. This was very tasty and hearty, yet light. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is fresh tasting, sweet, & spicy - had a hard time stopping myself from getting additional helpings... Instead of the tomato sauce, I used a can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and then only water as needed. Half the amount of sugar was plenty! When I have fresh garden tomatoes, I'll use those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Not bad. Like others, I had lots of zucchini around, and I was tired of making zucchini muffins. I doubled the recipe but only used 2 TBS of oil. I also used a 26-ounce can of spaghetti sauce and a can of diced tomatoes. I omitted the sugar altogether. It was good, but much better when I used an emersion blender to puree some of the zucchini up. I might make it again, I might not. Neither my husband nor my daughter were thrilled, but I did find it a nice change. Thanks for sharing, FABA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I decided to make this in an attempt to use up some extra Zucchini we had and wow, I am impressed! Very simple to make and very, very delicious. I didn't add the sugar and only let it simmer for roughly 30 minutes and it came out great. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States