Zucchini and Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This recipe was good, but it had *way* too much sugar in it. It was like eating candied zuchini sprinkled with oregano. I would cut down on the sugar by half, and not simmer for a full hour if I was to make this again. I prefer a little more sauce and there wasn't much left after condensing for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I fixed this for 20 people. I kept in mind the prior rating and cut the sugar by 1/3, and used Splenda granular instead of regular sugar. The sugar could have been cut more. Everyone enjoyed it, and I will fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was edible but just barely. I cut the olive oil down to two tablespoons and that was plenty. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup and it was still wayyyyyyy too much. I can't imagine what this would have been like if I had added the full 1/2 cup. This was a lot soupier than I expected- not necessary a bad thing, but if you're expecting a really thick sauce this won't do it. Overall, the overwhelmingly sweet taste completely overpowered the flavors of the zucchini and tomato sauce. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Easy, good flavor! I used no salt tomato sauce since my husband has high BP. And I was short on time,so I kept it on med-high instead of low. Just remember to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
After reading prior reviews I cut sugar out completely. Taste was great, but cooking zucchini an hour was too long as it got too mushy. Next time will do the same thing only cooking 30-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This turned out good. I did listen to other reviewers and only put in 1 Tablespoon of sugar and I eliminated the water entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUJRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this dish! I thought it was very easy and healthy! I only made a few changes....... I added more garlic because my husband and I love it!! I also added fresh mushrooms and a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I used rigatoni instead of shells because thats all I had. I also only used 1/4 cup of sugar due to what others had stated. I simmered it for 1 hr like the recipe said and it turned out wonderful! Iadded low fat parm cheese and that topped it off!!! Great dish I will make again!! PS this dish is just as good the next day! (and I am not a "left-overs" type of girl!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was really good. After reading everyones reviews, I didn't add any sugar and cooked the zucchini just until crisp-tender (not an hour). This was very good! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was sooo delicious, however by reading some of the other reviews I decided to cut the amount of sugar in half and I instantly fell in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooklynrottweiler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I decided to make this in an attempt to use up some extra Zucchini we had and wow, I am impressed! Very simple to make and very, very delicious. I didn't add the sugar and only let it simmer for roughly 30 minutes and it came out great. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States