Zucchini and Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This recipe was good, but it had *way* too much sugar in it. It was like eating candied zuchini sprinkled with oregano. I would cut down on the sugar by half, and not simmer for a full hour if I was to make this again. I prefer a little more sauce and there wasn't much left after condensing for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I fixed this for 20 people. I kept in mind the prior rating and cut the sugar by 1/3, and used Splenda granular instead of regular sugar. The sugar could have been cut more. Everyone enjoyed it, and I will fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was edible but just barely. I cut the olive oil down to two tablespoons and that was plenty. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup and it was still wayyyyyyy too much. I can't imagine what this would have been like if I had added the full 1/2 cup. This was a lot soupier than I expected- not necessary a bad thing, but if you're expecting a really thick sauce this won't do it. Overall, the overwhelmingly sweet taste completely overpowered the flavors of the zucchini and tomato sauce. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Easy, good flavor! I used no salt tomato sauce since my husband has high BP. And I was short on time,so I kept it on med-high instead of low. Just remember to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
After reading prior reviews I cut sugar out completely. Taste was great, but cooking zucchini an hour was too long as it got too mushy. Next time will do the same thing only cooking 30-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This turned out good. I did listen to other reviewers and only put in 1 Tablespoon of sugar and I eliminated the water entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUJRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this dish! I thought it was very easy and healthy! I only made a few changes....... I added more garlic because my husband and I love it!! I also added fresh mushrooms and a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I used rigatoni instead of shells because thats all I had. I also only used 1/4 cup of sugar due to what others had stated. I simmered it for 1 hr like the recipe said and it turned out wonderful! Iadded low fat parm cheese and that topped it off!!! Great dish I will make again!! PS this dish is just as good the next day! (and I am not a "left-overs" type of girl!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was really good. After reading everyones reviews, I didn't add any sugar and cooked the zucchini just until crisp-tender (not an hour). This was very good! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was sooo delicious, however by reading some of the other reviews I decided to cut the amount of sugar in half and I instantly fell in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooklynrottweiler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I decided to make this in an attempt to use up some extra Zucchini we had and wow, I am impressed! Very simple to make and very, very delicious. I didn't add the sugar and only let it simmer for roughly 30 minutes and it came out great. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States