Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
A very disappointing recipe. I thought the mix of flavours was terrible, especially the mint. I might try something similar again, but with basil instead of mint (I find it goes much better with zucchini) and I would have to play around with the other spices as well. Unfortunately, this side dish was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe and found it to be very tasty. The combination of spices and herbs, while hard to imagine as being tasty, was indeed an excellent combination. I watched the video, which had some extra info, such as, add a fair amount of salt, as fresh veggies tend to absorbe a lot of it. Also, plain paprika would not do the trick. The smoked paprika, which many may not have in their pantry, was key. The cayenne on top of the ricotta was another bit of zip that really made it a good recipe. I put it all in my iron skillet, which may have helped it to bake just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I thought this zucchini-ricotta casserole was absolutely delicious. I find zucchini hard to love--so watery and bland-- but this was rich, creamy, and flavorful. Make sure you bake it until the ricotta is browned and the zucchini is soft. Next time I'm going to drizzle a little olive oil over the cheese before I bake it. Yum, yum, yum and healthy, too! Thank your, chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Between the ricotta, smoked paprika, and cayenne, I was ready for a flavor explosion. Sadly, it didn't happen. The only substitution I made was dried mint for fresh (w/the appropriate adjustment). This just didn't work for us. The mint was overpowering. It was ok, just not a dish I'll make again. It's def worth trying (particularly paired w/a greek flavored meat!) for yourself, though. Thanks for the recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this as written except I added an extra half cup of ricotta. Sorry, but it was extremely bland. It would probably be better with some parmesan and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Made this to go with Weiner Schnitzel for dinner last night. I put in WAY less mint than stated because I knew that the mint in my herb garden was much stronger than what one would buy in the store, and I knew that my hubby is not a big fan. Even so it was too much mint. I love ricotta, but you have to admit it is VERY bland and nothing in this recipe changed that. So bland ricotta plyus bland zucchini = bland minty dish. Do not waste your time or ingredients on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I was not a fan of the mint in this recipe. It needed more umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Not so great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made this recipe and it was just okay. I've made better zucchini casseroles in the past. I thought it had too much garlic. I did add some other cheeses to it...don't think I'll add this one to the rotation. The only reason I made it was because I didn't go to the grocery store and had all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Really freaking tasty! I may add some parmesan to this next time, since that seems like a great addition. This is definitely a crowd-pleaser - even those who claim to not like zucchini will really enjoy this dish. This will definitely be on regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States