Zucchini and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this with changes listed by other reviewers. Nice to make with leftovers in the frig. Good accompaniment to simple fish, chicken, and pork recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I thought this recipe looked a little bland due to the lack of seasoning so I made a few changes. Firstly I didn't steam the zucchini, I sautéed it with a healthy pat of butter, 3 cloves chopped garlic, 1/2 diced onion, 1 tsp of oregano leaves, 1 tsp red pepper flakes and 1 tsp garlic salt. Also instead of using only half a cup of rice I used one full cup. Other than that I loved this recipe, and so did my sister who came over later and raided my fridge for the last of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayumi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Very good but a bit bland, I will try adding a few items that other reviewers suggested. DH actually said he loved it and he NEVER says he loves ANYTHING!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I love this recipe. I used smart balance butter instead and no oil. Added monteray Jack cheese and medium cheddar cheese; also I added a small amount of sweet corn for an extra veggie. I Seasoned Panko bread crumbs to taste and added more cheese on top. Baked at 350 degrees for 45 minutes and broiled on low for last 5 minutes. My family loves this! A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
why rate a dish 5 stars if you have changed it so much from the original recipe? Rate the original recipe not your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peterlee, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is a good start but I only gave it 4 stars because I changed quite a bit. First I used about 3 zucchini, chopped them up and sauted them with a ton of garlic (probably 15 minced cloves). I don't have a dutch oven so just put the rice, cheese, cooked zucchini, & some margarine in a medium pot, added only one egg and mixed. I put it all in the prepped pan, used crushed butter crackers on top instead of breadcrumbs, added the melted margarine and broiled. It came out fantastic! I think the key ingredient that was missing was lots and lots of garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious! I didn't put the zucchini slices on top, however. Wonderful with a salad,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
No flavor, unappealing consistency. Too much revamping required to attempt again. Do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKSATTLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TribePride
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this for my husband, who really liked it. His only suggestion is to just not bother putting the zucchini slices on top of the casserole as garnish, because they were too bland. He felt he'd rather just have them mixed in with the cheese and the rest of it (though the presentation was really nice!). I'll be making this again for him. Thanks, Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was FANTASTIC! I did what another reviewer did and cooked the rice in veggie broth. It added so much flavor! I also had this side dish as a main meal and it was so filling! Everybody need to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States