Zucchini and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious! My demanding relatives plus the children loved this dish; I did not have cheddar nor breadcrumbs available so I used ementhal instead and topped it with more ementhal...it came out delicious and I got a lot of compliments from relatives who take their food very seriously. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet S.
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe. I liked it and already gave the recipe to 2 other people. The only thing I changed is I didn't put the zucchini slices on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is definitely a good starter. I gave it 5 stars after making the following changes: used 2c. brown rice (instead of white) and cooked it in vegetable broth instead of water, increased the parmesan cheese to 3/4 c., increased the shredded cheddar to about 5 oz, increased the eggs to 4. I also followed other reader's advice and sauteed the zucchini with 1/2 c. margerine (omitted the oil) and about 1 T. of minced garlic instead of steaming it. I also added about 1 c. of diced carrots to the saute for color and extra vitamins. I topped it with 3/4 c. crushed Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs and baked it at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes and did not broil it at all. It came out delicious and my whole family loved it. Next time I will probably top it with some cheese, as well as the cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent way to use up all that zucchini! I added browned hamburger, used more rice and one more egg. Also some chili powder. Thanks. SuperShar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was so yummy! I did make some alterations: used chicken broth instead of water for the rice, used 1 cup dry rice, and added some garlic powder at the end, before baking it. I'm pretty sure I used a lot more cheddar too, I just eyeballed it. However, I thought I used too much rice, so next time I'll try 3/4 cup and see how it goes. Also, the bread crumbs browned up before the casserole got bubbly so I put tin-foil on top. I think 1 cup of breadcrumbs was too much, I'll try a little less next time. This is a definite favorite and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
I made this into stuffed zucchine boats. I used 10 med. zukes and cut them in half lengthwise and scooped out the insides. I used the inside pulp for the recipe as it is writen except I added I/4 lb. breakfast sausage that I add crumbled and fried. I used Panko bread crumbs (found in the Japanese food isle) and it tasted wonderful. I will definetely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it made a big hit, especially with my big brothers! These are the changes that I made which made it so easy! Cut off the ends of the zucchini and discard, then dice the rest. When sauteing, I used only the 1/4 c. butter and added 2 c. cooked rice. Continue the recipe as written but omitted the bread crumbs to cut down on the carbs. Placed in a greased casserole dish and microwaved until hot--delicious! I was concerned about the number of people it said that it served but I found that it really served 6-8 nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
It took a little time to make it, but it was well worth it. A great side dish for those with lots of zuchinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't have enough zucchini, so I mixed yellow squash with the zucchini on hand. This is one of the best casseroles, I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Wow!! this is delicious!! I added cooked ground sausage, used lots more rice (2 cups total) and doubled the cheddar cheese (my family likes lots of cheese). I also used only about half the suggested bread crumbs and it was awesome! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States