Zucchini and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I really loved this! Only reason I am giving 4 stars is because as written, there would definitely not be enough rice. I upped it to 2 cups cooked rice and it was perfect! Also, no need for all that butter and oil when sauteeing, I only used a small chunk of butter (about 2 1/2 T) and it was just fine. Save the fat/calories for something else! Overall, it was delicious and cheesy, served it as a main course with corn on the cob, salad and fruit. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was so good! I too used more rice and a little less zucchini, and then only 1 egg to make it a little drier. With a salad it made a delicious meal for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Pretty tasty. You can definitely cut down on the amount of butter and oil, though - after I cleaned my plate (which I did quite happily) you can see the amount of oil leftover. Also, I accidentally used a type of instant rice which never browned when I sauteed it, but it all still came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent way to use up all that zucchini! I added browned hamburger, used more rice and one more egg. Also some chili powder. Thanks. SuperShar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
this was good, but mine came out really dry, might have to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet S.
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe. I liked it and already gave the recipe to 2 other people. The only thing I changed is I didn't put the zucchini slices on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious! My demanding relatives plus the children loved this dish; I did not have cheddar nor breadcrumbs available so I used ementhal instead and topped it with more ementhal...it came out delicious and I got a lot of compliments from relatives who take their food very seriously. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was so yummy! I did make some alterations: used chicken broth instead of water for the rice, used 1 cup dry rice, and added some garlic powder at the end, before baking it. I'm pretty sure I used a lot more cheddar too, I just eyeballed it. However, I thought I used too much rice, so next time I'll try 3/4 cup and see how it goes. Also, the bread crumbs browned up before the casserole got bubbly so I put tin-foil on top. I think 1 cup of breadcrumbs was too much, I'll try a little less next time. This is a definite favorite and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is definitely a good starter. I gave it 5 stars after making the following changes: used 2c. brown rice (instead of white) and cooked it in vegetable broth instead of water, increased the parmesan cheese to 3/4 c., increased the shredded cheddar to about 5 oz, increased the eggs to 4. I also followed other reader's advice and sauteed the zucchini with 1/2 c. margerine (omitted the oil) and about 1 T. of minced garlic instead of steaming it. I also added about 1 c. of diced carrots to the saute for color and extra vitamins. I topped it with 3/4 c. crushed Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs and baked it at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes and did not broil it at all. It came out delicious and my whole family loved it. Next time I will probably top it with some cheese, as well as the cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was pretty good. It did need a little bit more flavoring, I did add garlic and onion to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States