Zucchini and Pork Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this using left over smoked pork loin and it turned out great. I did not use the sun-dried tomatoes as I am not a fan, however I did use fire-roasted diced tomatoes. I loved the flavor and the way this soup is a full meal for a light lunch and easy to make and take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The soup was easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
What a *SUPER* base recipe - 4.5 or better. Whatever you do, do **NOT** skip - or skimp on - the Parm ... I believe we had roughly twice as much as the original recipe suggests ... it truly moves this dish into the big leagues. While nice on its own, I tweaked this a good deal to cater to our tastes the second time around: upped garlic to 1 T powdered + 2.5 T minced, doubled the amounts of sautéed onion & Bell pepper, added ~ 1 C super thin celery slices, 3T ground dry Ancho pepper, 1/2 C finely chopped Pompano peppers, increased oyster sauce to 3T while dramatically increasing the basil & oregano to 2 T and 1T respectively. Used large can of cherry tomatoes rather than a smaller one of diced. Added no salt or pepper - smooth rich heat from the mild chili peppers and plenty of sodium in the oyster sauce. All in all, I think this is one of the best dishes I've ever had ... very grateful to the originator for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Enjoyed this soup a lot. It is easy as presented but I changed it up a bit. When shopping for some of the ingredients I found some smoked pork neck bones so I made a pork/veggie stock prior to use instead of chicken broth. I also mixed yellow with the red bell peppers and like some other commenters added some fresh spinach late. Like most stock soups it needed slightly more salt than with broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I was nervous about how this would taste, but it was very delicious. Easy way to use up stuff from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great basic recipe, I usually make it with left over pork roast and tonight just made it with left over shredded turkey breast. I never use the Oyster Sauce or sun dried tomatoes; however I always add the following, frozen veggies (any kind I have on hand, my favorite are the picsweet stew blend), three large diced potatoes, 2 cups of chicken broth and fresh garlic!!! We always put shredded mozzarella cheese in our bowls and eat it with crusty bread. My whole family loves this, even the toddler!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I loved this soup. Very tasty, filling and healthy. I added some spinach at the end like another reviewer suggested and it came out very nice. I will try this recipe again and maybe add some potatoes next time to make it even heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this soup with some leftover smoked pork loin that I overcooked so it turned out too dry. Found this recipe and figured lets try it and salvage the pork. The smoke gave a different twist to the recipe and it was great. Everyone loved it, even my 24 year old son who is not a soup lover. Only ingredient I was missing was the sun-dried tomatoes. I did add a little white wine to knock down the salt in the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was really good! I didn't have oyster sauce, otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out great! The pork was very moist and tender (I am not normally a big pork fan) and went perfectly with the rest of the ingredients. I loved the tomato flavoring in the background. All around great dish! I makes a really big pot so I froze some individual portions for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow, Delicious! I made a slew of modifications, but only because I didn't have everything on hand. I didn't have pork chops, diced tomatoes, chicken broth or oyster sauce. I subbed in 32oz no sodium beef broth, 4 chicken bouillon cubes and 1/4 cup tomato paste. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States