Zucchini and Pork Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
an absolutely wonderful soup! I do not like cooked zucchini and I even ended up loving this. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this two ways- first with shredded chicken because it's what I had. I liked it, but it wasn't much different than any other veggie soup I've made. Then I tried it with the pork chops- everyone LOVED it! Even the kids who turn their noses at almost any soup. Definitely try this with pork chops! My 5 year old son even asked for leftovers for lunch the next day. I did not have the oyster sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy McCullough

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I definitely liked this soup, and it actually grew on me heated up. I had two medium to medium-large zuchinnis and this amount makes the soup pretty chockful of the veggie-- some people may actually want to add a bit less since the amount of broth I ended up with was kinda scanty in comparison. However, the only real issue I had was with the meat or meat preparation. I think this might actually be better with a pulled pork preparation. Might not be quite as economical, but I think you'd end up with less issues overcooking the pork and less possibilities of raw flour in your broth mixture when it doesn't necessarily need to be thickened. When you coat the pork chop cubes it won't hold when put in the broth mixture and you end up just essentialy adding the flour coating to the soup so it acts as a thickener (I doubt this is on purpose-- maybe try flouring very lightly before frying). As I said, it tastes fine but then the consistency is a little weird. Be careful overcooking the pork as it tends to get a bit tough prepared this way (maybe I cooked mine more than 10 minutes, but I don't think so...) Also, do add the oyster sauce, it really does add the oomph that many veggie-filled soup recipes are missing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Knaub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heyitsmedev
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was a great tasting soup! It was easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this using left over smoked pork loin and it turned out great. I did not use the sun-dried tomatoes as I am not a fan, however I did use fire-roasted diced tomatoes. I loved the flavor and the way this soup is a full meal for a light lunch and easy to make and take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The soup was easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
What a *SUPER* base recipe - 4.5 or better. Whatever you do, do **NOT** skip - or skimp on - the Parm ... I believe we had roughly twice as much as the original recipe suggests ... it truly moves this dish into the big leagues. While nice on its own, I tweaked this a good deal to cater to our tastes the second time around: upped garlic to 1 T powdered + 2.5 T minced, doubled the amounts of sautéed onion & Bell pepper, added ~ 1 C super thin celery slices, 3T ground dry Ancho pepper, 1/2 C finely chopped Pompano peppers, increased oyster sauce to 3T while dramatically increasing the basil & oregano to 2 T and 1T respectively. Used large can of cherry tomatoes rather than a smaller one of diced. Added no salt or pepper - smooth rich heat from the mild chili peppers and plenty of sodium in the oyster sauce. All in all, I think this is one of the best dishes I've ever had ... very grateful to the originator for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Enjoyed this soup a lot. It is easy as presented but I changed it up a bit. When shopping for some of the ingredients I found some smoked pork neck bones so I made a pork/veggie stock prior to use instead of chicken broth. I also mixed yellow with the red bell peppers and like some other commenters added some fresh spinach late. Like most stock soups it needed slightly more salt than with broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I was nervous about how this would taste, but it was very delicious. Easy way to use up stuff from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great basic recipe, I usually make it with left over pork roast and tonight just made it with left over shredded turkey breast. I never use the Oyster Sauce or sun dried tomatoes; however I always add the following, frozen veggies (any kind I have on hand, my favorite are the picsweet stew blend), three large diced potatoes, 2 cups of chicken broth and fresh garlic!!! We always put shredded mozzarella cheese in our bowls and eat it with crusty bread. My whole family loves this, even the toddler!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States