Zucchini and Onion Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These are great! Although I must admit that I did throw in a few extra ingredients, cause I was afraid it might be a little bland. So I threw in some crushed red pepper, garlic salt and parmesan cheese. They were so good and I even burnt the 2nd batch a little bit and they were really good burnt!! A good tip for draining all the water from the zucchini is to wrap it in a tea towel and wring the towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I think this is a delicious way to prepare zucchini...not bland at all. In addition to the oregano, I did add a sprinkle of seasoned salt to the mixture and topped the "pancake" with Colby Jack cheese before serving. I used one reviewer's method of allowing the grated zucchini and onion to sit in a colander for 30 minutes to drain and that seemed to work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved the simplicity of the recipe and how delicious it turned out! It works great for the Whole 30 diet with just substituting Ghee for butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
i haven't tried this recipe yet - i'm planning on it - but i've made something like it and i think it would help to add a beaten egg and a tablespoon or two of flour. also make sure to squeeze as much liquid out of the shredded veggies as possible before mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yum, these are so good!! Even my 3 year old ate them. I have to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We really enjoyed the flavor of this. I didn't expect to get true "pancakes," so I just sauteed everything together in a big bunch and got it nice and browned. I used grapeseed oil instead of butter, and fresh oregano. Add some grated potatoes and this would make a delicious hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I liked this a lot. I modified significantly. In addition to the 2 eggs, I added basil, marjoram, sea salt, pepper, paprika, four cloves of garlic in the processor with the onions and half a cup of corn meal. Draining in a colander for thirty minutes was very helpful, thanks to the reviewer who suggested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Here's the trick to perfect zucchini pancakes much like potato pancakes. To 3 cups grated zucchini, add 1/4 cup Bisquick and 1 egg. I also saute some onions. Add salt and pepper to taste as well as Italian seasonings, and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy32408
Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
In response to the criticism that the "pancakes" do not hold together: the challenge is not with the recipe it's with expectations set up by the name pancakes. This is a recipe for a "latke", a yiddish word that is loosely translated as pancake. A latke is not a flour pancake, it is a vegetable pancake-like thing. Latkes don't hold together like a smooth pancake, even when made with potatoes - instead they have bits of vegetable that stick out, turn crispy, fall apart. So, you have to imagine you're living in Eastern Europe to enjoy this simple vegetable recipe or, if you really want a pancake, add flour and egg. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Just a hint about zucchini: if you sprinkle salt on the grated zucchini and let it sit for about 30 minutes in a strainer it will release a LOT of excess water. Pat it with some paper towels then make the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erycca Manninen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States