Zucchini and Onion Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Just a hint about zucchini: if you sprinkle salt on the grated zucchini and let it sit for about 30 minutes in a strainer it will release a LOT of excess water. Pat it with some paper towels then make the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erycca Manninen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
In response to the criticism that the "pancakes" do not hold together: the challenge is not with the recipe it's with expectations set up by the name pancakes. This is a recipe for a "latke", a yiddish word that is loosely translated as pancake. A latke is not a flour pancake, it is a vegetable pancake-like thing. Latkes don't hold together like a smooth pancake, even when made with potatoes - instead they have bits of vegetable that stick out, turn crispy, fall apart. So, you have to imagine you're living in Eastern Europe to enjoy this simple vegetable recipe or, if you really want a pancake, add flour and egg. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I gave this a 3 as is but made it again today with some additions/changes and give it a 5 now! I added 2 beaten eggs to the zucchini and onion mixture and held off using the salt until one side was browned. When I drained the zucchini and then added the sale as per directions I had a soupy mess. I also browned in extra virgin olive oil with a little butter and it intensified the flavor-great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Here's the trick to perfect zucchini pancakes much like potato pancakes. To 3 cups grated zucchini, add 1/4 cup Bisquick and 1 egg. I also saute some onions. Add salt and pepper to taste as well as Italian seasonings, and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy32408
Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These are great! Although I must admit that I did throw in a few extra ingredients, cause I was afraid it might be a little bland. So I threw in some crushed red pepper, garlic salt and parmesan cheese. They were so good and I even burnt the 2nd batch a little bit and they were really good burnt!! A good tip for draining all the water from the zucchini is to wrap it in a tea towel and wring the towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We really enjoyed the flavor of this. I didn't expect to get true "pancakes," so I just sauteed everything together in a big bunch and got it nice and browned. I used grapeseed oil instead of butter, and fresh oregano. Add some grated potatoes and this would make a delicious hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Made this recipe two nights ago for the hubby. I did drain the zucchini and onion in a collander as well as damped it with paper towels. We thought that this was a good base recipe to start out with; however, I would not make it the same way again. I would add a bit to it: a little egg and a little flour (but not enough to qualify as a full-blown pancake), parmesan cheese, and some sort of tomato-based relish for the top. Again, while we enjoyed it well enough the other night, I would use this to branch off for something more tailored to my family's liking. Consider this a good foundation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I think this is a delicious way to prepare zucchini...not bland at all. In addition to the oregano, I did add a sprinkle of seasoned salt to the mixture and topped the "pancake" with Colby Jack cheese before serving. I used one reviewer's method of allowing the grated zucchini and onion to sit in a colander for 30 minutes to drain and that seemed to work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Did not stay together and the flavor was not great--just tasted like steamed zucchini and onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yum, these are so good!! Even my 3 year old ate them. I have to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States