Zucchini and Onion Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I just didn't think the taste was worth the amount of trouble to make the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved the simplicity of the recipe and how delicious it turned out! It works great for the Whole 30 diet with just substituting Ghee for butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was a soggy gross mess. It didn't stick together at all so I had to add egg. After the egg, it did stick together, but it was still a soggy gross mess. And I squeezed a ton of water out as best I could, salted it to leech out more water, etc. How did anyone get this to work? Horrible- I threw the whole batch out. What a waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishynumber2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
It is seldom I just can't finish eating something I make, but this was just not something I could handle. The only way I could think of that this might be valuable is layered with tomatoes as a quiche filling, otherwise I wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Here's the trick to perfect zucchini pancakes much like potato pancakes. To 3 cups grated zucchini, add 1/4 cup Bisquick and 1 egg. I also saute some onions. Add salt and pepper to taste as well as Italian seasonings, and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy32408
Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We really enjoyed the flavor of this. I didn't expect to get true "pancakes," so I just sauteed everything together in a big bunch and got it nice and browned. I used grapeseed oil instead of butter, and fresh oregano. Add some grated potatoes and this would make a delicious hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Made this recipe two nights ago for the hubby. I did drain the zucchini and onion in a collander as well as damped it with paper towels. We thought that this was a good base recipe to start out with; however, I would not make it the same way again. I would add a bit to it: a little egg and a little flour (but not enough to qualify as a full-blown pancake), parmesan cheese, and some sort of tomato-based relish for the top. Again, while we enjoyed it well enough the other night, I would use this to branch off for something more tailored to my family's liking. Consider this a good foundation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Did not stay together and the flavor was not great--just tasted like steamed zucchini and onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I think this is a delicious way to prepare zucchini...not bland at all. In addition to the oregano, I did add a sprinkle of seasoned salt to the mixture and topped the "pancake" with Colby Jack cheese before serving. I used one reviewer's method of allowing the grated zucchini and onion to sit in a colander for 30 minutes to drain and that seemed to work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These are great! Although I must admit that I did throw in a few extra ingredients, cause I was afraid it might be a little bland. So I threw in some crushed red pepper, garlic salt and parmesan cheese. They were so good and I even burnt the 2nd batch a little bit and they were really good burnt!! A good tip for draining all the water from the zucchini is to wrap it in a tea towel and wring the towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States