Zucchini and Feta Cheese Fritters (Kolokithokeftedes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I have a personal recipe for zucchini patties and a favorite one from this site. I thought I would try this one for something a little different. Taste wise I would give them at least a 4. However, they are very GREASY! Plus, they are not only time-consuming to make, but very messy! The patties did not want to hold together at all. I am going to blaim that on the zucchini I had. I had to squeeze a lot of water out of it, which I had never had to do before. The other recipes use 1-2 Tblsp or butter or oil. The patties hold together on their own. I found the dipping the patty in flour before cooking a little tedious. The flour mixture or more eggs should have went into the bowl to hold them together. I got one good batch, but I may not even try making the rest as they are a pain. Unless, I can figure some way to thicken the batter, which I may finally do. Hopefully, I will also be able to use less oil than also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Holy moly these are AWESOME. This will definitely become a family tradition. I recommend one small change-dredge the fritters in panko bread crumbs instead of flour. Serve fritters with tzatiki sauce and you will be dining with Zeus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These were a big hit! The only changes I made was that I baked instead of fried and left out the bread crumbs and instead used a few tablespoons of whole wheat flour to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
When I put zucchini in a recipe I always squeeze the moisture out thoroughly with a towel. It dries it out and makes it easier to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These were really tasty. I added an extra 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs because the mixture was too wet. And I fried them for at least 15 minutes on each side. They were still pretty flimsy. Next time I'll try to bake them and see if more moisture cooks out. I served them with homemade hummus and the flavor was amazing! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
LOVE this! I added some caraway seeds, and baked instead of fried. Only used 2 zucchini. It was easy to form. No problem, not too wet or dry. Absolutely perfect and will make them a thousand more times. Thanks for sharing!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Big Hit! added 2 eggs, 1 cup of fresh bread crumbs instead of dry and could not find mint so used fresh dill instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Yummy!!! and super easy! I only added some fresh anethum and parsley! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We LOVED these! I do agree w/ the other reviewer that they were a bit soft to work with (and I only used 1 zucchini), but other than that they were great! These had wonderful flavor and texture and I really enjoyed the added potato. I also added in a bit of garlic powder to the mix as well just because. Will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Nice flavour, just a bit on the soft side, added some extra breadcrumbs. Put them in the oven for 5 minutes to crisp up a little, seved on pita with tatziki, lettuce, cucumber and tomato. Finished with a squeeze of lemon. Very nice, worth making again and experimenting with a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States