Zucchini and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My husband and I thought this was very good. I needed a quick lunch that used up some garden produce. The egg flavor complimented the zucchini nicely. This was quick, easy and tasty. I added onion to the saute. Good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I grew up eating this as our garden was always abundant with zucchini and I still make it frequently. I start with sliced sweet onion (and a little chopped fresh garlic if you like it) . Saute onion in olive oil until softened; add the sliced zucchini and cook until tender. Add a little fresh chopped basil to the zucchini if you have some in your garden! Pour the eggs with Parmesan over the mixture and cook until set. Serve with a nice piece of crusty bread and a sliced tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great meal! I added a little milk to the eggs and used fresh garlic rather than garlic powder. Also added some tomato and it was a delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wonderful combination of tastes in the morning! I sauteed garlic and onion with the oil first and then added the zucchini. While those were cookin, I cut up some jalapenos and bell pepper. After adding those in and letting them soften up, I poured in the egg mixture which included salt, pepper, soy milk, Parmesan, rosemary, oregano, and basil. I served it with toast and salsa on the side. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I substituted the garlic powder with sliced garlic and added in some yellow squash. Just doing this made a wonderful meal. It's filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barberton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I prefer it cooked with a little butter instead of olive oil. It was quick, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was just great. We had it for breakfast but it could be just perfect for a brunch. My wife and I enjoyed it alot....Thanks for the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
A very delicious "anytime" dish! I did saute some thinly sliced sweet onion with the zucchini and added a small amount of water to the egg/parmesan mixture. I fixed this for a quick supper served with a handful of grape tomatoes. But it would be good for brunch, lunch, well, anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I grew up to love zucchini because of this "frittata" as we called it. It was everyday food for us, but only during summer when Grandma, and then Mom, grew zucchini in their garden. I feel for the submitter, because it's difficult to put this down in recipe form! It's never measured precisely, and the ingredients are never carved in stone. Add mushrooms, onions, and/or chopped tomato if you like, which is what I did today. I use fresh garlic, not garlic powder (grandmas didn't have garlic powder!) and not nearly as much Parmesan as the submitter directs - we use grated Parmesan at the table just like salt and pepper - just sprinkle it on to your liking. I didn't need a recipe for this, of course, but I wanted to let others who aren't familiar with this know that this is the real deal in Italian households - no plain ol' scrambled eggs for us! Times have changed since I was a young girl with so many fruits and vegetables now almost always available in our food markets. Now I can enjoy this profoundly nostalgic, simple plate of food all year round. (Best, I might add, with toasted, homemade Italian bread!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
What a healthy and delicous breakfast! And I must admit a nice change from my usual yogurt. I used fresh garlic instead of powder and added some onions and tomatoes to get more veggies. This went great with multi-grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States