Zucchini and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I made this tonight for dinner and it was very good. I used two zucchini, added 3 minced cloves of garlic, only two tomatoes, used 1/4 tsp. basil and 1/4 tsp. oregano for the Italian seasoning and also added about 1/2 tsp. salt. I mixed the seasonings in with all the vegetables, instead of just on top. I think it tasted better incorporating the seasoning throughout the dish. I also sprinkled a tad bit of Parmesan along with the mozzarella, and also used only about half the amount of cheese. 8 oz seemed a little much... maybe if you used a larger casserole dish you would use more cheese. Anyway, it was really a wonderful side dish and my sister, who has hated zucchini forever said it was actually very good and that she meant it. I think that says a lot! Everyone enjoyed this dish and it was a great combination of vegetables. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I love this dish, but I also had a problem with sogginess. I solved it by using a carton of chopped tomatos, & simply drained them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I made this for dinner tonight and I found that the tomatoes were really just far too wet, possibly because of the ones I used, and the green peppers didn't seem to get cooked enough. I think the next time I try this I'll only use the zucchini, onions, and cheese as well as putting some sliced mushrooms in with the zucchini and onion when it's in the skillit. MMMM now that sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We loved this! I had an abundance of zucchini and peppers from my garden, but no tomatoes. I used a 15 oz cn aof petite diced tomatoes which I drained. I have fresh herbs growing right outside my kitchen, so I used parsley, thyme, and oregano in place of Italian seasoning. This took about 45 minutes to be done (cheese bubbly and slightly browned.) My husband loved this and had three helpings. This will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I gave this recipe 5 stars for flavor. I did make some changes...used cheddar because I didn't have mozzarella, and lined the bottom of the casserole dish with bread crumbs...The crumbs absorbed any extra liquid and they tasted good as well. I stirred them into the casserole before serving it with freshly grated parmesan cheese on the side, which I believe enhanced its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I made this as a side dish...wow! Was I surprised! I too used 2 zucchinis and half the tomtatoes. In addition, I "layered" the veggies, starting w/ the zucchini, then onions, green peppers, and tomatoes - sprinkling a little italian seasoning on each layer. I didn't think something so simple would turn out so good but we all enjoyed this and I'll be sure to make again when the garden is full of these goodies!! Thanks Juzella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Had a great first attempt. Loved the cheese and Italian seasonings. Wish I had read the reviews first as I did experience the wateriness. I will drain the tomatoes next time. Maybe add some more peppers. Great summer meal. My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Added summer squash, garlic clove, omitted green pepper. Used one large tomato, too. Also added parmesan cheese with mozzarella. It was wonderful! Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Its a great way to eat your veggies. Like the others, I thought the dish was a little wet in the bottom. I used some parmesan cheese with the mozarella, cooked the peppers with the zucchini and tossed the seasoning with all the ingredients. I used two medium zucchini, one large tomato, and 1/3 of an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
It was pretty good as a side dish but I wouldn't say it would be a very filling main dish and I am a very light eater!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States