Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Thank you for the kind reviews. As user Baked noted, this recipe does have too much sugar. It should be half the amount listed in the recipe - 1/2 cup. Not sure how that happened as I didn't submit it that way. It seems the part about draining the zucchini was left out as well. The mix can be too wet if the zuchinni isn't drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made changes to make them healthier and my picky son STILL gobbled them up. I upped the veggies and applesauce, added flax seed, lowered the oil, omitted the white sugar altogether. Also, if you don't have oat flour, just toss plain oatmeal into the blender and voila! oat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Whoa! very moist! I used only whole wheat flour and oats (didn't have oat flour) and I added 1/2 cup ground flax seed. I didn't put in any sugar, only the honey. Oh, and I didn't have applesauce so I crushed some pineapple. It would have been fine without any applesauce or pineapple all together. Didn't use raisins, just walnuts. These smell so amazing and they really taste great! Got the thumbs up from family. Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
this recipe works even when you replace the ingredients. i use only half the oil and the remainder in flaxmeal, quick rolled oats instead of oat flour, egg whites instead of eggs, nonfat yogurt instead of regular fat yogurt and stevia & splenda instead of plain sugar. everyone who tried my "healthier" version really liked them! (this revised recipe comes out to 160 calories and 5.25 grams of fat per muffin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I followed the recipe. The only changes I made was that I cut the sugar back to 1/2C. and I used Vanilla yogurt. You must remove the excess liquid from the zucchini. To do this easily and remove alot of it's juice, just put the shredded zucchini into a potato ricer and squeeze. (You'll be amazed how much a potato ricer can squeeze out!) Also, if you want a nice dome top for this muffin or any quick breads, heat oven to a HOT 450' oven, put muffins in and immediately reduce Temp to what the recipe states, in this case 400' for 18min. I think these muffins are really good. I left out the nuts as I don't like crunch in my muffins! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Loved this recipe. I did this as 2 loaves instead of muffins (reduce heat to 350 and cook for 45-50 minutes.) I also substituted brown sugar for white, used all applesauce and no oil, used all carrots and substituted ginger for the nutmeg. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
These turned out to be some of the most beautiful, tasty, and healthful muffins I've ever baked! I prepared them as directed with one small adjustment, well, two actually: I didn't have enough honey, so I added real maple syrup to the honey, and I didn't want to use refined sugar, so I used @ 2/3 c. of sucanat. Oh, and I almost forgot - I didn't have oat flour, so I substituted oat bran. They rose like no muffin I've baked before, have a wonderful taste and texture. I will be using this recipe quite a bit, although I think I may try to go a step further and omit the oil altogether, substituting applesauce. Oh, and by the way, I also added 2T wheat germ and 2T ground flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great Muffin! I changed things up a bit. I upped the wheat flour to 1 cup, and reduced the all-purpose flour to 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 cup of soy flour to add some protein. I used oatmeal that I put in the blender because I didn't have any oat flour and that worked great. I also did not add the cup of sugar and only went with the 3/4 cup honey (I'd rather have honey than white sugar). Lastly, I didn't have any yogurt, so I used sour cream. The muffins came out moist, and really tasty. I don't like muffins too sweet, so these were perfect! Thanks for the recipe and all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
These muffins are quite tasty as stated. I have made them twice and will continue to make them. The first time I made them I substituted oats for oat flour and cut the sugar to 1/8 cup. These were quite popular, but since I like to freeze my batter into the paper cups I wanted to see if I could adapt this recipe to freeze quicker and I wanted to try and cut the sugar some more. The second time I substituted oats for oat flour, cut the all-purpose flour to 1-1/4 cup, added 1/4 cup of wheat germ, switched my 1/8 cup of white sugar to brown sugar, cut the oil to 1/4 cup and cut the honey to 1/2 cup. These didn’t seem to freeze any quicker. So, the final recipe that I will be sticking with is using the oats, 1/8 cup of white sugar, keeping the wheat germ and only using 1/4 cup of oil. These were popular with the 15 month old, all the way to the grandparents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Boy these are good! I used ground flaxseed (1 1/2 cups) in place of the 1/2 cup oil. Increased the amount of veggies too! These are so yummy, this recipe is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States