Zucchini Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a very good and filling soup, even the way I made it: I needed to use my slow cooker, so I had to reduce the tomatoes and zucchini a bit otherwise it wouldn't have all fitted in. I browned the meat/pepper/onion first and put it on top of the chopped veges in the s/c pot. I used beef stock instead of soup mix. I also omitted the pasta because (a) there was no room and (b) pasta doesn't really work in a slow cooker soup unless you add it near the end. It was scrumptious and I will definitely make it again, probably reducing the amount so I can use the right proportion of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
WOW!!! What a delicious, filling soup. I made this for my family a year ago and it has become a regular. I freeze my garden tomatoes and zucchini in the Fall when I have an abundance and enjoy their fresh taste all Winter long with this recipe. We add two cans of tomatoe sauce to make the broth creamier and a can a sliced mushrooms. When we serve the soup we sprinkle grated cheese over the top and have homemade bread. I have also made this soup using shredded leftover roast beef instead of hamburger. I would highly recommend this soup to anyyone!! So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Excellent "dinner" soup ... thick and stew-like. I used diced canned tomatoes since we're beyond fresh tomato season and yellow and zucchini squash for eye appeal. I also like to use several different types of pasta ... again for interest. Easy to make and I only used 1 pound of LEAN ground beef. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Absolutely fantastic. It was easy and very tasty indeed. I didn't have beef and onion soup available to me however and just used beef soup with some extra onions. A real find, thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
my 8 year old daughter said i should give this "as many stars as you can!" she loved it so much she wants it for lunch tomorrow too. also, i put a little bit in my food grinder and fed it to my 12 month old, who loved it as well. i had to make some substitutions according to what i had on hand: i used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh (i only did 1/3 of the recipe); i used a couple teaspoons of beef bouillon instead of the soup mix (i think the soup mix would make it too salty anyway); i used one zucchini and one yellow squash; i used minced garlic instead of powder; i used frozen chopped green peppers. we topped it with a little shredded cheddar. it turned out delish and it was quick and easy to make. a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was an excellent, seasonal soup. I loved how easy it was to make, and was surprised at how quickly everything cooked. I used ground turkey instead of beef to keep it light and healthy (however the soup was very fulfilling), and maybe added just a tad more of the seasonings and herbs, just because I love them. But overall, I pretty much kept the recipe the same (except for the meat substitution), and my boyfriend and I were very pleased. Oh, and, I didn't take one other person's suggestion and added freshly grated parmesan cheese on top after dishing each bowl.....because that's yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I liked this recipe; however my husband wasn't as impressed. I made it in the crock pot, which caused the pre-cooked noodles to really disintegrate ( I hadn't cooked them all the way but they still couldn't stand up to long-term cooking). Wasn't sure if 2 cups of pasta was 2 COOKED cups or two uncooked???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Almost doubled the onion (had homegrown sweet), used 1/2 commercial canned no-salt added tomatoes and 1/2 homemade tomato sauce from the freezer, added a bit of extra oregano and a LOT more garlic (several minced cloves of fresh, plus almost all of the powder). Never added any salt, and it did not need any. Added some fresh sliced mushrooms close to the end of the cooking time, and they went well in this. I used cavatappi for the pasta, and it took too long to cook. By the time it was soft, the zucchini was almost overdone. Next time I would add the pasta a bit before the zucchini, even if I use elbow macs. Sprinkled on Parmesan just before serving. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I should have sauted the meat with garlic as there was hardly any flavor to this. We added parmesean once it was served and that made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahkim
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Pleasant surprise. Not much of a tomato/zucchini fan, not sure what prompted me to make this. But I did, and it was a pleasant surprise! I was afraid of it being too tomato-y tasting, but it's not so! Not sure 4 c. of water is enough- there wasn't much liquid during and after cooking. I couldn't tell when the soup started to boil because there was just so much vegetable in the pot. This is a REALLY HEARTY STEW. I only added 1 lb of g. turkey, 3 lbs of macaroni. The dang soup wouldn't boil even after quite some time on high, so I just threw in the cooked turkey and macaroni and simmered and stirred till the noodles were cooked and onions softened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States