Zucchini Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
WOW!!! What a delicious, filling soup. I made this for my family a year ago and it has become a regular. I freeze my garden tomatoes and zucchini in the Fall when I have an abundance and enjoy their fresh taste all Winter long with this recipe. We add two cans of tomatoe sauce to make the broth creamier and a can a sliced mushrooms. When we serve the soup we sprinkle grated cheese over the top and have homemade bread. I have also made this soup using shredded leftover roast beef instead of hamburger. I would highly recommend this soup to anyyone!! So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Delicious! More like a stew than a soup, but we love it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Excellent "dinner" soup ... thick and stew-like. I used diced canned tomatoes since we're beyond fresh tomato season and yellow and zucchini squash for eye appeal. I also like to use several different types of pasta ... again for interest. Easy to make and I only used 1 pound of LEAN ground beef. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Almost doubled the onion (had homegrown sweet), used 1/2 commercial canned no-salt added tomatoes and 1/2 homemade tomato sauce from the freezer, added a bit of extra oregano and a LOT more garlic (several minced cloves of fresh, plus almost all of the powder). Never added any salt, and it did not need any. Added some fresh sliced mushrooms close to the end of the cooking time, and they went well in this. I used cavatappi for the pasta, and it took too long to cook. By the time it was soft, the zucchini was almost overdone. Next time I would add the pasta a bit before the zucchini, even if I use elbow macs. Sprinkled on Parmesan just before serving. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Absolutely fantastic. It was easy and very tasty indeed. I didn't have beef and onion soup available to me however and just used beef soup with some extra onions. A real find, thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Very tasty hearty soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I liked this recipe; however my husband wasn't as impressed. I made it in the crock pot, which caused the pre-cooked noodles to really disintegrate ( I hadn't cooked them all the way but they still couldn't stand up to long-term cooking). Wasn't sure if 2 cups of pasta was 2 COOKED cups or two uncooked???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a very good and filling soup, even the way I made it: I needed to use my slow cooker, so I had to reduce the tomatoes and zucchini a bit otherwise it wouldn't have all fitted in. I browned the meat/pepper/onion first and put it on top of the chopped veges in the s/c pot. I used beef stock instead of soup mix. I also omitted the pasta because (a) there was no room and (b) pasta doesn't really work in a slow cooker soup unless you add it near the end. It was scrumptious and I will definitely make it again, probably reducing the amount so I can use the right proportion of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This soup is SO good! I took the advice of another reviewer and added a can of tomato sauce. I also substituted ground turkey for the ground beef. We sprinkled shredded parmesan cheese on top. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was an excellent, seasonal soup. I loved how easy it was to make, and was surprised at how quickly everything cooked. I used ground turkey instead of beef to keep it light and healthy (however the soup was very fulfilling), and maybe added just a tad more of the seasonings and herbs, just because I love them. But overall, I pretty much kept the recipe the same (except for the meat substitution), and my boyfriend and I were very pleased. Oh, and, I didn't take one other person's suggestion and added freshly grated parmesan cheese on top after dishing each bowl.....because that's yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States