Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
As written, definayely four - with a few minor changes 5+++! I sauteed the onion until deep golden brown, (we LOVELOVELOVE carmelized onions) plus sauteed the zucchini a little - it's crunchy otherwise. I also added more cheese than was called for. The "impossible pies" from the back of the box call for 2/3 c mix, 3/4 c milk and 2 eggs - so that's the topping that I used. I've made this 1000 times with 1000 different fillings - any cheese wotrks, most any veggie in most any combo. It's also good with chopped cooked meats! This is a terrific basic "starter". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a very nice dish to make! I sliced my garden grown zucchini, sauted them a few minutes with onions, garlic and shredded carrots. I then added the parmesan cheese, the spices I put in are: paprika for colour, fresh parsley, celery salt, onion powder and black pepper. The smell is heavenly when it's baking! I sprinkled some grated cheese on the top for the finishing touch! Great hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is a very simple recipe that is helping to use the abundance of zucchini that we have this time of year. I added fresh marjorum, fresh basil & a chopped jalapeno pepper for added flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This was a quick and delicious recipe. I added a little bit of dried basil to spice it up a touch and used Asiago cheese instead of the Parmesan. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Followed everything to a tee and ended up with soggy veggies and a giant biscuit like thing on top. Would never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe ingredients, but I sauted the vegetables first, as suggested by other reviewers. It turned out OK, but I wouldn't make it again. For my taste, there were not enough vegetables in the recipes for the amount of the breading. I might consider doubling the vegetables and adding additional spices, but wouldn't recommend the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
i read all the reviews and sauted-ed(?) onion, garlic, succhini and tomatoes,adjusted spices but the bottom line is: it's very dry....i guess that's what you can expect using a bisquit baking mix. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Mmmm this is delicious! I sauteed the veggies in olive oil and a clove of minced garlic first. Yummmy!!!! Easy and delicious, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Did not have any red tomato's on hand so made with a yellow one. Also did not have a pie pan so i made in a regular square one. Added some garlic as i thought it seemed like it could use some. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good! I sometimes use pepperoni bits or sausage that I have sauteed in this pie. ALWAYS saute your zucchini first to take some of the liquid out of it. Mozzerella is a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States