Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
As written, definayely four - with a few minor changes 5+++! I sauteed the onion until deep golden brown, (we LOVELOVELOVE carmelized onions) plus sauteed the zucchini a little - it's crunchy otherwise. I also added more cheese than was called for. The "impossible pies" from the back of the box call for 2/3 c mix, 3/4 c milk and 2 eggs - so that's the topping that I used. I've made this 1000 times with 1000 different fillings - any cheese wotrks, most any veggie in most any combo. It's also good with chopped cooked meats! This is a terrific basic "starter". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a very nice dish to make! I sliced my garden grown zucchini, sauted them a few minutes with onions, garlic and shredded carrots. I then added the parmesan cheese, the spices I put in are: paprika for colour, fresh parsley, celery salt, onion powder and black pepper. The smell is heavenly when it's baking! I sprinkled some grated cheese on the top for the finishing touch! Great hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is a very simple recipe that is helping to use the abundance of zucchini that we have this time of year. I added fresh marjorum, fresh basil & a chopped jalapeno pepper for added flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This was a quick and delicious recipe. I added a little bit of dried basil to spice it up a touch and used Asiago cheese instead of the Parmesan. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Followed everything to a tee and ended up with soggy veggies and a giant biscuit like thing on top. Would never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
i read all the reviews and sauted-ed(?) onion, garlic, succhini and tomatoes,adjusted spices but the bottom line is: it's very dry....i guess that's what you can expect using a bisquit baking mix. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe ingredients, but I sauted the vegetables first, as suggested by other reviewers. It turned out OK, but I wouldn't make it again. For my taste, there were not enough vegetables in the recipes for the amount of the breading. I might consider doubling the vegetables and adding additional spices, but wouldn't recommend the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Mmmm this is delicious! I sauteed the veggies in olive oil and a clove of minced garlic first. Yummmy!!!! Easy and delicious, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Did not have any red tomato's on hand so made with a yellow one. Also did not have a pie pan so i made in a regular square one. Added some garlic as i thought it seemed like it could use some. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good! I sometimes use pepperoni bits or sausage that I have sauteed in this pie. ALWAYS saute your zucchini first to take some of the liquid out of it. Mozzerella is a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States