Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Next time will try cheddar instead but it was good. Added a minced garlic clove and used half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I added a little bit of mozzarella and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I just made this for dinner tonight since I have an abundance of zucchini in my garden. My husband and I both loved it and I would definitely make it again. The only change I made to the recipe was adding some fresh herbs to the vegetables. I added some fresh basil, oregano and rosemary and stirred it up with the veggies. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I love this recipe, because you can play around with it and add different veggies and spices. Some suggested sauteing the veggies first, but I liked it much better adding them raw. It's important to monitor the cooking time the first time you make it. For me, 30 minutes at 400 was too long. I had to turn the temperature down to 375 halfway thru, and even then, it only took 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was really tasty! Only 4 stars because I had to tweak it for the consistency I liked. I sauteed the onions in olive oil (butter would also work), then added the zucchini so it wouldn't be crunchy, and added some fresh garlic to the sautee. I squeezed out the excess moisture too once it cooled a bit, so it wouldn't be watery as some people noticed. I didn't have parmesean so I added flavors with herbs instead - fresh basil and I wasn't too shy with the salt, plus I added an egg and used a tbs of lemon juice with the milk to make it "sour". Baked it in mini muffin tins to make personal sized pies. It disappeared within minutes of serving it at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Not bad but not great...a little watery and not much flavor...needs seasonings. I'll have to try this one again with some changes, nice starter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I sauteed the onion & zucchini until browned. I also stirred chopped fresh basil (about 5 large leaves) into the batter, as I had some leftover from something else. Everything else I left alone, it didn't come out dry as some said, it was like a cross between a biscuit and a quiche texture. Yummy, will do again, perhaps add browned sausage and make it the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Very Good. Instead of biscuit mix I used the Homemade Pancake Mix also found on this site. I also followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the veggies and added mushrooms. This recipe is a good base with endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Agree with the others. Saute your veggies first, add some herbs. And double the amount of veggies, or you're left with a really bready dish. I think next time, I'll add some cooked potatoes to this. I think that would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Mmmm this is delicious! I sauteed the veggies in olive oil and a clove of minced garlic first. Yummmy!!!! Easy and delicious, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States