Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This recipe was excellent. I did add a reasonable amount of italian seasoning and additional black pepper, but otherwise made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Next time will try cheddar instead but it was good. Added a minced garlic clove and used half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I added a little bit of mozzarella and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I just made this for dinner tonight since I have an abundance of zucchini in my garden. My husband and I both loved it and I would definitely make it again. The only change I made to the recipe was adding some fresh herbs to the vegetables. I added some fresh basil, oregano and rosemary and stirred it up with the veggies. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I love this recipe, because you can play around with it and add different veggies and spices. Some suggested sauteing the veggies first, but I liked it much better adding them raw. It's important to monitor the cooking time the first time you make it. For me, 30 minutes at 400 was too long. I had to turn the temperature down to 375 halfway thru, and even then, it only took 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was really tasty! Only 4 stars because I had to tweak it for the consistency I liked. I sauteed the onions in olive oil (butter would also work), then added the zucchini so it wouldn't be crunchy, and added some fresh garlic to the sautee. I squeezed out the excess moisture too once it cooled a bit, so it wouldn't be watery as some people noticed. I didn't have parmesean so I added flavors with herbs instead - fresh basil and I wasn't too shy with the salt, plus I added an egg and used a tbs of lemon juice with the milk to make it "sour". Baked it in mini muffin tins to make personal sized pies. It disappeared within minutes of serving it at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Not bad but not great...a little watery and not much flavor...needs seasonings. I'll have to try this one again with some changes, nice starter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I sauteed the onion & zucchini until browned. I also stirred chopped fresh basil (about 5 large leaves) into the batter, as I had some leftover from something else. Everything else I left alone, it didn't come out dry as some said, it was like a cross between a biscuit and a quiche texture. Yummy, will do again, perhaps add browned sausage and make it the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Very Good. Instead of biscuit mix I used the Homemade Pancake Mix also found on this site. I also followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the veggies and added mushrooms. This recipe is a good base with endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Agree with the others. Saute your veggies first, add some herbs. And double the amount of veggies, or you're left with a really bready dish. I think next time, I'll add some cooked potatoes to this. I think that would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States