Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I love this recipe, because you can play around with it and add different veggies and spices. Some suggested sauteing the veggies first, but I liked it much better adding them raw. It's important to monitor the cooking time the first time you make it. For me, 30 minutes at 400 was too long. I had to turn the temperature down to 375 halfway thru, and even then, it only took 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was really tasty! Only 4 stars because I had to tweak it for the consistency I liked. I sauteed the onions in olive oil (butter would also work), then added the zucchini so it wouldn't be crunchy, and added some fresh garlic to the sautee. I squeezed out the excess moisture too once it cooled a bit, so it wouldn't be watery as some people noticed. I didn't have parmesean so I added flavors with herbs instead - fresh basil and I wasn't too shy with the salt, plus I added an egg and used a tbs of lemon juice with the milk to make it "sour". Baked it in mini muffin tins to make personal sized pies. It disappeared within minutes of serving it at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Not bad but not great...a little watery and not much flavor...needs seasonings. I'll have to try this one again with some changes, nice starter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I sauteed the onion & zucchini until browned. I also stirred chopped fresh basil (about 5 large leaves) into the batter, as I had some leftover from something else. Everything else I left alone, it didn't come out dry as some said, it was like a cross between a biscuit and a quiche texture. Yummy, will do again, perhaps add browned sausage and make it the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Very Good. Instead of biscuit mix I used the Homemade Pancake Mix also found on this site. I also followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the veggies and added mushrooms. This recipe is a good base with endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Agree with the others. Saute your veggies first, add some herbs. And double the amount of veggies, or you're left with a really bready dish. I think next time, I'll add some cooked potatoes to this. I think that would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Mmmm this is delicious! I sauteed the veggies in olive oil and a clove of minced garlic first. Yummmy!!!! Easy and delicious, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe ingredients, but I sauted the vegetables first, as suggested by other reviewers. It turned out OK, but I wouldn't make it again. For my taste, there were not enough vegetables in the recipes for the amount of the breading. I might consider doubling the vegetables and adding additional spices, but wouldn't recommend the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Tasty stuff - I used cheddar because we were out of parmesan, also added thyme and rosemary. Would love to try this with goat cheese added. This recipe is super adaptable - and easy as pie. Ha. EDIT: I just made this again with tomato & mushroom. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was a really yummy and attractive side dish. I made a few changes as per other reviewers' suggestions...sauteed the zucchini, onions and really good garden tomatoes in olive oil with plenty of dried basil, oregano, salt & pepper. Also added a cup of old cheddar cheese to the mix, then sprinkled some on top and put a few thinly sliced tomatoes on top as well. The result looked and tasted great. Loved the texture. This is a simple recipe but there's a lot you could do with it...I'd love to try it with mexican spices another time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States