Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
With some modifications, this recipe is easily 5 stars. I saute the zucchini and onion until slightly browned. This makes the veggies not as crunchy, which is what I prefer in this dish. I also add more seasoning: I sprinkle the top with Italian seasoning, pepper, and a little salt. I use the Bisquick box recipe for the dough portion. I also sometimes make a double batch and put it in a 13x9 pan and cook it until it's golden brown on top. Great to take to work for lunch throughout the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was not earth-shattering, but very good!! I'll make this again. I used the "easy biscuit mixture" recipe on this site for the baking mix. I sauteed the zucchini (of which I used about a cup extra) and onion prior to cooking with about a clove's worth of minced garlic. I also combined everything in a bowl, plus parsley and paprika, before putting it in the pan so the veggies would be mixed well. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I used frozen, grated zucchini I had in my freezer to make this dish. When I measured, it was not 2 cups worth, so I added chopped broccoli to make up the difference. I also used the Heart Smart Bisquick. This made a very light, low-cal dinner for our meatless night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've made this twice. Made slight changes the second time. The bisquick mix was bland when not eaten with a bite of vegetable, so I added the parm cheese salt and pepper to the mix after I beat it. (rather than on the veggies). I used frozen chopped onions (defrosted before adding to dish. 1/2 cup was to much, so I decreased second time.) Much "lighter" than a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONLIGHT369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I could not find zuccini, I live in Panama but used broccoli and added fresh sliced mushrooms. It is excellent hot or cold and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is going to be called "garden pie" at my house. I had broccoli from the garden and added that (chopped) to the vegetables. I used swiss cheese because that is what I had on hand. It made four very generous servings. One adult male who swears he doesn't like zucchini ate it and one adult male who swears he doesn't like swiss cheese ate it. Together they finished off the pie for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Excellent!! I could not stop eating it. Good thing it's not too unhealthy. The only change I made was to cook the zucchini slightly beforehand. Oh and I also forgot the cheese until the last minute and had to sprinkle it on top of the batter but I don't think that changed anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was good. I made another with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Love this recipe. If you chop your veggies, no need to waste time precooking as some have suggested. I make as is and add a cup of cheddar in addition to parmesan. Very quick and easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This recipe was excellent. I did add a reasonable amount of italian seasoning and additional black pepper, but otherwise made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States