Zucchini Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
So disappointed in this recipe! I really liked the idea of this dish. I had a ton of zucchini and a ton of tomatoes, so why not bake them into a delicious pie, right? Wrong! The biggest thing that made this recipe not good was the tomatoes. I didn't like the texture of them or the taste once they were baked in. And the rest of it together was just pretty bland and meh. Since, like I said, I really loved the idea of this recipe, I tried it again with some changes. First, I left out the tomato. I replaced them with mushrooms and sautéed them with the zucchini and onion with a little olive oil and some garlic pepper. I added crumbled bacon to the veg mixture and then baked with the crust/cheese as directed. After that, it was a top notch recipe! But as is, not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Liked the concept but it was a bit "breadier" than I had imagined. Good flavor though. I baked it about 20 mins longer than recipe stated to fully solidify the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farah
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Used squash but sautéed it with onions and garlic first. Also, followed the 2 eggs, 3/4 c milk and 2/3 c baking mix tip. Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magpie
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I added shredded cheddar, extra leftover veggies we had, extra egg, herbs and did as others suggested - I sauteed the onion and zukes in olive oil with 2 small minced garlic cloves. The result? EXCELLENT. My tomatoes were sliced thin instead of diced and I also sliced my zucchini after taking all the seeds out first. So happy it turned out so well b/c this is going to be a meatless dinner for my meat-loving husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
You can make this recipe gluten free by substituting the biscuit mix with instant corn masa mix and baking 10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
So easy! Love it! Turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was so good! Made a great brunch item. I sautéed the veggies first to cook out some of the water, added a clove of crushed garlic and some bell pepper. I also used a bit less of the baking mix and eggs - 1/2 c each of baking mix and milk, and 2 eggs. You do have to let it sit 5-10 mins to help it firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith27539

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
A little bland but could easily be perked up by adding another ingredient. Mine baked well...not too wet or dry...and had a beautiful appearance. Followed directions but lightly patted tomatoes with a paper towel before mixing with other ingredients. Rate 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I wanted to love this, I really did. It's just so bland! At the very least it needs some melted cheddar or mozzarella on top or mixed in. But mostly, it needs alot more herbs & spices. Maybe some Italian seasoning, or something. I didn't have time to read all the reviews, but this same recipe is on Betty Crockers website so I figured I couldn't go wrong! I probably will make it again, with some tweaking. Thanks for the recipe, though..we still ate it, so that says something I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I grated 2 zucchini and sauteed with tomatoes, onion and garlic. Used 1/4 cup parm cheese and 1/4 romano cheese. Made homemade bisquick mix from this site. Used southwest style egg beaters. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States