Zucchini Summer Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Made this for the staff at work, it was a major hit!! Very flavourful and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was really really good I adjusted it for my 4 qt slow cooker. I put the chicken broth in the slow cooker on high while I started to prepare the remaining ingredients. I dissolved sugar in a small cup of the hot broth and lemon juice and then added back to the slow cooker. I used a pint of my own canned tomatoes which I put a tablespoon of lemon juice in that when I can. I used 3 teaspons of dried dill weed and 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried tarragon and 1 tablespoon of onion powder and used 1 tablespoon of freeze dried garlic. Cooked on high in slow cooker and was ready in 3 hours I have 4 stars because the parmesan to me added a grittiness I didn't like and also think it's better to peel tomatoes when used in any recipe. (quickest easiest way is to put in boiling water no more than 1 minute and immediatly put in ice bath and skins should come right off) Will make agein with either all fresh ingredients or with my modified slow cooker recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellant soup and great way to use up those over-sized zucchinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I would've called this a Tomato soup with Zucchini, rather than a Zucchini Soup. It really could be used as a pasta sauce. Not bad flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Delicious as is. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This seemed more like a pasta sauce than a soup to me. I doubt I'll make it again, although my mom seemed to like it, so she might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I read the previous reviews, and so didn't have high hopes for this recipe. But we are so flush with tomatoes and zucchini right now that I thought it was worth a go. I'm so glad I did! I think this recipe is terrific! I love the dill and the taragon, both of which become very subtle after simmering. I made few changes to the recipe. I peeled and seeded our torpedo-sized zucchini. I didn't use roma tomatoes, just some that my husband had recently harvested. I used only 1/2 a cup of water. Next time I might reduce the sugar a bit, but that's the only change that I think I'd make. And the good news is that there's plenty of leftovers, so I'll freeze half for a cold fall evening. We had the soup with some crunchy bread and had what I thought was a perfect meal. My three-year-ld thought so, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I am not sure that I like the dill in it. I added a can of white beans for protein. Made a vegatarian meal with some toast and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie Downour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
OK..this soup is certainly different. Can't put my finger on what is missing. The spices need to be played with quit a bit to get the right taste. I did in the end mix together 3 egg yolks with 1/2 cup heavy cream and gradually added that into the soup. This improved the flavor for me tremendously. I'm not sure if I'd make again given the time it takes to prepare. But maybe..just maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States