Zucchini Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I had to slice these into rounds instead of sticks because I had round zucchini. Like others had said, coat the zucchini in flour and then into the egg mixture - if the egg mixture still doesn't coat the zucchini then dip into the flour again and back into the egg and then the crumbs. A sprinkle of Parmesan cheese and a bit of kosher salt while they are still hot adds a nice finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe.. my modifications are as follows..I love seasoning and added seasoning to egg mixture (salt, pepper) then added seasonings to flour (seasoning salt, pepper garlic powder) then added the following seasoning to bread crumbs grated parmesean cheese, garlic powder, pepper.. I subbed the whipping cream with half & half.. and followed everyones suggestion - dip in flour then bread crumbs.. came out DELICIOUS.. i used 2 sauces - ketchup mixed with tabasco sauce and ranch mixed with fresh dill..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomi94536

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
They were a lot of work for something without a lot of flavour. My husband said to me, don't bother making again. He eats anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed your recipe. Thanks for a quick fix to the largest zucchini I've ever seen in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is like the appetizer at Carrabbas Italian Grill. They make it simple by coating in flour seasoned with salt & pepper, deep frying, and serve with A roasted Garlic Aioli (mayo) sauce. Yummy way to get kids and picky eaters to eat their vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
A great way to get rid of extra zucchini! I agree with others who said to dip in flour before the egg mixture. It sticks better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Loved them! I love zucchini and I used seasoned breadcrumbs instead of regular. You get a lot of flavor this way. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
These were just okay. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but the batter didn't stick well to the zucchini, so the end result was closer to fried plain zucchini rather then the batter coated, deep fried zucchini sticks I sometimes order in restaurants. I'm not ready to give up on this recipe just yet though. I'll have to try these one more time and see if they turn out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
very time consuming and the batter didn't stick too well. I didn't mind the taste but needed to add much more parm cheese for otherwise bland flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Added some additional seasoning and instead of cutting into sticks, I just sliced the zucchini. Never tried the ranch dressing, maybe will next time. Overall, I liked but my kids didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States