Zucchini Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is a very good cake, I added extra spices & raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This was delicious. I made it just as it says and shared with family and ALL loved it. It is a sweet cake, so I made some cream cheese frosting and just drizzled a bit across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe made the cake just so moist and wonderful, but I think the changes I made to it gave it an extra zing. PLEASE try these additions - it makes it healthier/tastier! I doubled the amount of cloves, used only 1 and 1/2 cup of brown sugar, used oat flour (ground 1 and 1/2c rolled oats), added 1/2 cup of walnut pieces, added 1/2 cup of craisins, added 1 medium apple, cut into small cubes, and added orange zest (grated the entire surface of 1 medium orange). WHAT a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was really good. I did make a few modifications. Cut down the sugar a little and left most of the liquid in the zucchini. Made the batter thinner and was super moist. This is a recipe I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Simply amazing cake. Both moist and dense, just like the description says. Everyone who tried is was instantly in love. I decreased the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was still way sweet. I added unsweetened coconut flakes and some chopped pecans. I bake a LOT and this cake is a keeper. Incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crislyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I started out using the recipe as posted and it is very good! Currently, I only use half the amount of brown and white sugar called for. I have found the applesauce adds enough sweetness. I also add 1 cup of dried cranberries(craisins) which are also somewhat sweetened. I do not find that the reduction in sugar changes the outcome or the overall flavor. This is a great recipe, everytime I make it and give it to the neighbors, they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Good taste and nice texture. However, this is a pretty time-consuming cake to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It was very moist....instead of oil, I used applesauce (1 3/4 cups) and it was delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wonderful Recipe! Great way to use up the rest of my applesauce excess. My neighbors loved it as well and requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Very good, moist but I had to bake it a little longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States