Zucchini Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was really good! I substituted olive oil for the margarine. I did not add the wine. I didn't have celery on hand so omitted that. I would totally make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
We loved it, not sure why people felt like they needed to add so many herbs to theirs. I felt like there was lots of flavor by just adding salt and pepper. The vegs really came through with flavor. I did have to make a couple of small changes, I only had half the butter so I finished it with olive oil and I only had 1/4 cup of white wine left to use. I used red onion for the onion. I used my hand blender right in the pot, easier than the big blender. My daughter and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great recipe! Very yummy soup! I didn't put it through a blender and used low fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I also put some salt, pepper and fresh chopped parsley at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I gave this four stars based on the originial recipe ... With this being a soup I was able to taste as I went and make a few changes. I know noone likes when someone rates a recipe but doesnt make it exactly but on the other hand I'm not going to waste a bunch of ingredients when I know what I can do to make it better for me and all recipes are all in the eye of the beholder (eater, lol). I followed all of the cooking directions exactly just added a couple of ingredients. I added quartered button mushrooms and a few cut up jalapeno slices to the veges to saute, I also added salt, pepper and a pinch of paprike to taste. After the veges were done I added the milk w/ flour, then I added the soup and used chicken broth instead of water and buillon (as many previous reviews did), when it was done it was really really good, just felt it was missing something... sooo I added a pound of Italian sausage, end result... AMAZING!!! Thank you for the great idea.. I'm going to put some shredded cheddar cheese on it and eat til its gone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I LOVE THIS SOUP! I ended up using a submersion blender and not quite pureeing the veggies so that it was slightly more like a chowder and it was GREAT! The flavor was reminiscent of a really nice soup i had one time which was a crab bisque with sherry. It was a struggle for me to not put in some cayenne or crushed red pepper, but i'm glad I didn't because it is great just how it is. Next time i'm going to try with larger portions of the same veggies and freeze some of it so that i can have it 'on demand' later. This one seems like it would go really well with some fresh homemade white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Add garlic and shrimp and use low fat mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Made it in a crockpot overnight. Because of that, I just threw in the vegetables together and didn't sauté them first. I substituted cream of chicken for the cream of mushroom and added some fresh mushrooms I had on hand. The next afternoon I processed it in the crockpot with my immersion blender (LOVE those things!) and then I tasted it and it was perfect! I ended up leaving out the butter, flour, celery and onions (didn't have any), bouillon, wine, and sour cream. It was so good already that I didn't see the need to add more calories. An excellent soup for a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is awesome! I loved it! It takes a long time, but it's worth it. I didn't puree it, and I used Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom, and Chicken Broth instead of water. I will be adding leftover chicken to it as well. I also added fresh tarragon and basil, and dried oregano. I will be recommending this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
The adults liked it as above with a pinch of salt. The kids added a handful of shredded cheddar atop. Everyone gobbled it up with a thick slice of homemade Italian herb bread! (The kids love broccoli cheddar soup, so this was a natural choice to use up some of our garden's zucchini.) Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This recipe gets you headed in the right direction. For anyone cooking for someone with hyperreactive innards or not liking seasoned food, this recipe is fine as written. For those who prefer seasoned food, you’ll need to add the ones you prefer or you’ll likely end up finding this soup lacking flavor as some other reviewers noted . . . make that one simple fix, and turn this into a great soup. To save prep time, just rough chop the vegetables rather than dicing them if you’re going to puree the soup per the directions. The approx. 20 minute cook time at medium low is spot on. Pulsed the soup in a Vitamix blender leaving flecks of zucchini and carrot for visual appearance. We subbed condensed golden mushroom soup for cream of mushroom, 1-1/4 cups chicken stock (omitted water & chicken bouillon), and used light sour cream. We went with the optional white wine using a sauvignon blanc. Seasoned with sazon, white pepper, and dash of cayenne pepper. This made a distinctly flavored, creamy soup, and they already want more made soon. Thank you, Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States