Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I just made this soup today and it was delicious! Here are a few changes I made: I made the soup all in one pot. Instead of sauteeing everything in a skillet and then transferring, I sauteed the onions, potatoes, and zucchinis in a large pot, and then added the milk and water (with chicken soup flavoring) to the mixture. I used an immersion blender instead of a food processor. I didn't have so many zucchinis, so instead I used 4 potatoes, 3 zucchinis, a different amount of water and milk (didn't measure), and instead of soy sauce, I used sherry and worchestershire sauce. I also didn't feel the need to add potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Very yummy soup!...and easy to make too! I doubled the potatoes and omitted the potato flakes. Blending only half the soup adds texture and bits of vegetable for a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
i made this soup on a chilly fall day (that is 75 degrees in phoenix). i used about 5 cups of thawed frozen hash browns instead of chopped potatoes, omitted the basil and potato flakes (only becuz i didn't have any) and only blended half the soup to make it more texturiffic. yummy.... and oh so easy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
I made this soup with vegetable broth instead of chicken broth (we had a vegetarian visitor) and it was fabulous, either hot or cold! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very good flavor and so easy to make. I started by sauteeing 1/2 large yellow onion and 1 shallot (both chopped very small). Then I SHREDDED an absolutely huge garden zucchini (left skin on...the dark green skin pieces look fun in the ready soup). I also used 4 Idaho potatoes and no flakes. About 1/2 T of fresh thyme and purple basil (each) and the recipe amount of rosemary and white pepper (MUST use white pepper for the great flavor). 2% milk and low-sodium soysauce. Blended everything right in the pot and just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hooked on recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Quite good! I halved everything, used fresh herbs without measuring, didn't even use the potato flakes or dill weed. I used a bit of 2% milk, and added a little extra pepper, salt, and garlic powder. Only blend half the soup to keep some yummy chunks, grated cheddar on the top and loaf of french bread. Even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good! I left out the potato flakes, soy saue, dill weed, rosemary, and white pepper. I used black pepper, salt, and a bit more basil instead. Very delicious and flavorful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
really good ! Cold or hot! great to start a meal and keep calories under control
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
great, easy and quick way to use up all those thousands of zucchinis that come this time of year... and it's good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We really loved this recipe. Hubby really liked it and is glad there are leftovers. I used fresh basil along with the dried as we have alot in the garden, along with some salt and pepper as I did not have any thyme. I will definetly make this again (lots since we have ton of zucchinni in the garden!) Thanks fo rthe recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States