Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
We loved this soup - and it was perfectly, if delicately, seasoned for me. The only thing I don't like about this recipe is the subjectivity of the sizes of onions, potatoes, and zucchini used. I had one of those gigantic baking potatoes, so I only used one. My zucchini were on the small side of medium, and my onions were largish. I always prefer measured ingredient amounts in recipes to make sure I'm using what the submitter intended. Regardless, I loved the way this soup turned out - so thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamers
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was so good! I had zucchini soup at a cafe last week and wanted to try to duplicate that soup for home. This was a very good match! It was very easy and super flavorful. Don't be afraid to change the herbs and spices to match your taste. I added a little garlic salt and might saute garlic with the onions next time I make this. It will be a fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very flavorful without alot of calories! My family loved this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I absolutely love this soup! My mother gave me 2 monsterous zucchinis and I have been trying to figure out a way to use at least one of them up. This worked out great! I had to modify it a bit (only due to the fact that I used what I had on hand)..but it still turned out delicious! Instead of using 2 potatoes, I used some frozen califlower, switched whole milk to skim, and added a little curry to the finished product. Will definately be making again =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Umm, yum! Also doubled potatoes (used red ones, skin on) and omitted flakes. Used herbes de provence, since that's all I had. Great for dinner and great for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wow! Awesome recipe. I added 1 tsp chili flakes to the broth mixture and they complimented the creamy flavor really well! I also subbed the potato flakes for extra potato. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I thought it was delicious and easy to make. We had so much zucchini from our garden so I was happy to come across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very nice! A smooth soup that is just a little different. Don't pass this one up if you have a lot of summer zucchini. It also freezes and thaws well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is an excellent soup that can be modified easily to fit each person's taste preferences. I added heat with hot peppers & garlic cooked with the onion. I also simplified as others did using 1 dish & chopping up one large zucchini. I also added salt & sour cream to finish with the fresh dill. Will definitely make this again, probably with more changes for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very good flavor and so easy to make. I started by sauteeing 1/2 large yellow onion and 1 shallot (both chopped very small). Then I SHREDDED an absolutely huge garden zucchini (left skin on...the dark green skin pieces look fun in the ready soup). I also used 4 Idaho potatoes and no flakes. About 1/2 T of fresh thyme and purple basil (each) and the recipe amount of rosemary and white pepper (MUST use white pepper for the great flavor). 2% milk and low-sodium soysauce. Blended everything right in the pot and just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hooked on recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States