Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe was so tasty, and seems to be quite flexible. I used 5 zucchinis, 1/2 a yellow onion, and one large russet potato because that's what we had, and it was still delicious. Will try it just as it's written next time and see how it goes. I also added about 3/4 tsp of salt at the end. My 17 month old and husband loved it, and they are not an easy crowd. This might just be a staple in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this today exactly as stated, didn't change a thing except for not adding potato flakes which I don't have. I peeled my zucchinis because I find the peel sometimes has a bitter taste. I enjoyed this simple recipe. I think the milk is unnecessary as it doesn't really add much. I personally wouldn't double potatoes as some people did as the soup was already very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This was a tad bland. I'll need to tweak it next time. Also, it definitely works better in the blender than trying to use a stick blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this soup last night and just had it for lunch. It was great. I did not use the potato flakes, but doubled the potatoes, as some readers suggested. It was not very spicy (which is fine with me), but if you like things with a bit of a kick, you will need to add some spice of your liking. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chancelund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I have a garden that produce so much food and zucchini are HUGE. This recipe was wonderful. I had no potato flakes so I just added more potatoes. It's a keeper for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Gillespie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Had high hopes for this recipe as we love all kinds of squash and potato soups. Followed recipe exactly except for omitting the potato flakes because I didn't have any. It was completely tasteless so I added a healthy handful of grated mozzarella, a tablespoon or so of Tajin ( a mexican seasoning blend of chilis dried lime and salt), a hefty squeezing of sriracha, and salt to taste. I blended the additions in with the immersion blender and added chopped cilantro to each bowl. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yummy! I used yellow crookneck squash a friend had given me from her garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Really good use for extra garden zucchini. "8 zucchini" is very vague; I used one large garden zucchini, figuring that it approximated 8 of the small ones you find in stores. I used 1% milk, added a couple of kung pao peppers to give it a kick, and made it all in the soup pot using an immersion blender. Much easier than dealing with extra dishes. I sprinkled some dry dill on top of the pot while cooking, not nearly 4 tablespoons full. I think adding a spoonful of sour cream or plain yogurt on top of your bowl would be tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very good soup, lots of flavour. I added a can of tomatoes and a tsp of lemon juice. Family loved this recipe, will definitely keep and make again. Next time I make this recipe I will add a cup of grated carrots. Well recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Used 4 cups of shredded zucchini, 2 medium potatoes, 1 cup skim milk. Skipped the potato flakes. Topped it with cheddar cheese and croutons. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States