Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is excellent. My zucchini crop is abundant this year with the amount of rain we've had here in eastern Texas. I've been using different recipes to put of some of my zucchini crop in the freezer. This is a real winner. My zucchini's are very large so I chopped up what I thought was the equivilent to the 8 called for in the recipe. I added 4 medium sized russet potatos instead of 2 and omitted the flakes. I also cooked it all up in one pot. The only additions I made were a some fresh chopped garlic during cooking and a little dash of salt and some black pepper in the end. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I just made this soup today and it was delicious! Here are a few changes I made: I made the soup all in one pot. Instead of sauteeing everything in a skillet and then transferring, I sauteed the onions, potatoes, and zucchinis in a large pot, and then added the milk and water (with chicken soup flavoring) to the mixture. I used an immersion blender instead of a food processor. I didn't have so many zucchinis, so instead I used 4 potatoes, 3 zucchinis, a different amount of water and milk (didn't measure), and instead of soy sauce, I used sherry and worchestershire sauce. I also didn't feel the need to add potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
looks good and tastes good! I tried it and in the end before I liquidised everything, I added 3 triangles of cream cheese...they give a completely different taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I was rather suprised how lovely this soup tasted! I didnt add potato flakes and used fresh herbs instead of dried with a touch of mild curry powder, garlic granules and herb salt. Awesome, and my boyfriend who dosn't really like zucchini loved this soup! Excellent way to use up those plentiful zucchini's in the garden - Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I am a huge zicchini fan so this was ok for me. But it was rather bland and tasting as if it was just boiled and blended zucchini. Needs a lot of creativity, if I make it again. I saw a zucchini soup recipe with the addition of curry on this site, and that may do the job. Also, I tasted it when it was still hot and that was better and more flavourful than the cold version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I made this with a few changes. I didnt have any potatoes so I added some carrots,cooked and blended. I also added a dash of ceyanne pepper. I loved it and it was the first cold soup my family has ever had, so it was slow going for them, but not a definate thumbs down. I will make this again , for me , at least. With all of the zucchinis hanging around this summer, this is an excellent way to use them up, also i am dieting and this is an excellent meal all around for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We really loved this recipe. Hubby really liked it and is glad there are leftovers. I used fresh basil along with the dried as we have alot in the garden, along with some salt and pepper as I did not have any thyme. I will definetly make this again (lots since we have ton of zucchinni in the garden!) Thanks fo rthe recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I just made this and it is absolutely delicious. I didn't need the potatoe flakes as it is thick enough on its own. I also only pureed half the mixture for a chunkier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have been searching all over for a Zucchini soup that I like as well as give me Ideas for modifying a recipe I already have. This one is the winner so far. There was just something missing. I think with our taste for spice, I will add a drop of Braggs and see what happens next time. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was pretty good, but I did not add the potato flakes and I had to really spice it up. It seemed a little too sweet without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States