Zucchini Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is definitely a five star recipe; and it's really easy to prepare. I did a couple things differently. I saw no need to peel the zucchini, and as a result it was not mushy, but nice and crisp. The unpeeled zucchini also gave great color to the dish! I cooked the rice separately. I brought a 15 oz. can of Swanson's 97% chicken broth and added enough water to make two cups of liquid. To the 2 cups of boiling liquid I added a tsp. salt, and one cup of long grain rice and cooked the rice until it was just tender. After the vegetables finish cooking I combined them with the hot cooked rice. Then as a finishing touch, I added 3/4 cup of Monterey Jack(suggestion of a previous Reviewer). I've cooked "Zucchini Saute" twice to raving reviews. It's a very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This recipe is so delicious and healthy. I skip the oil entirely and just saute the onions (and garlic!) in water, which makes this recipe pretty much fat free. I also double the rice so I can eat it as a main. Fantastic! (Some changes I've tried: You can easily substitute the zucchini with cucumber, and Jen's "yogurt cheese dressing" (3 tbsp. yogurt, 1 tbsp. prepared mustard, 1 tbsp. grated parmesan cheese) is fantastic stirred throughout the dish. Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palewinterwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
My neighbor, who has a huge garden, brought me some fresh zucchini, cherry tomatoes, and a green bell pepper today and lo and behold, there was this recipe. I love that it includes a grain to round it out and everyone loved it. My husband kept saying how great it was and even my 20 mo. old liked it. Thank you! I forgot to peel half of the zucchini and didn't think it made much of a difference and next time I'll use five minute rice as my rice took too long, but otherwise yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I loved this recipe! I made it for my husband and I for a special dinner and then I ate the left overs the next day for lunch. I recomend putting some montery jack cheese on it and letting it melt! That is a great mix! I added a little extra rice then what it calls for to make it more of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I really liked this dish! It will definitley be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Delicious! It was quick and easy to make. I added Zatarain's Creole Seasoning and made sure to cut up the zucchini in big chunks. Came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Ug, this dish was awful. Everything cooked up fine and it looked great. But it was SO bland. I even added some seasoning as I sauteed the vegetables and a bit more as the rice cooked. Following the advice here, I'd skip the rice and add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmericnJewl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I recently made this for dinner and it was a great base dish! Make sure you cut the zucchini into at least 1 inch slices and quarter those slices. I think people may have had a problem with mushy veggies because of smaller cut sizes. I added a dash or two of crushed red pepper flakes to add a little kick. Still needs a little something, look forward to experimenting with it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I went to the Farmers Market today to pick up fresh vegetables specifically for this recipe. As it turned out, my boyfriend called to take me out to dinner. But I decided to make this recipe for my mom who was grilling steak. It was great! I didn't add the rice because I just wanted vegetables and I did saute some fresh garlic with the onions. Despite my boyfriend coming to pick me up in a hour, I kept eating the Zucchini Saute! Needless to say, I am not going to be very hungry for dinner. Thanks for a great recipe Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I added crushed garlic (fresh) and this was a great way to fix the fresh veggies from our garden. I didn't think I liked zucchini before, but the tomatoes and onion added a bit of sweetness. I didn't bother with the rice or water, as I wanted a strictly vegetable dish. We will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States