Zucchini Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Absolutely fantastic - the whole family and guest wanted more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
The cook time was alot longer than 30 minutes. This was my first time preparing Risotto. The flavor was wonderful. However, the texture of my Risotto was not quite al dente. I concocted a sticky, crunchy mess. Does anyone have preperation tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This recipe was a pleasant surprise-- it was relatively easy to make and turned out firm, tasty, and creamy. We made it vegetarian by substituting the chicken broth with kosher "chicken flavored" soup mix powder which is almost always entirely vegan (look for the word PARVE next to the kosher sign..) The prep time was a bit underestimated (it took us about an hour to make) and I think thicker slices of zuccini would give it a more interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
risotto is intimidating because of all of the stirring. As much as I cook, I still cannot get rice to work, so how was I going to make something as complicated as risotto? Thanks to this recipe (my inaugural attempt), my risotto was wonderful. Being a WeightWatcher girl, I did not add the parmesan cheese to the top (didn't miss it) and added lots of veggies. I too rough chopped my zucchini, and added chopped fresh broccoli and sweet peas (at the very end). I'd recommend carrots too. One happy note: I did not "stir continuously". Instead I used a very good pot and stirred "quite often", until the end. When the mixture thickened, I "stirred continuously" and voila! No blob. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was my first risotto attempt and it worked out pretty well. I was cooking for 2 so I scaled back the ingredients as follows(which made enough for 3): 4 cups chicken broth 1 tablespoon butter 1 cup rice 1/2 sweet onion chopped 2 small carrots chopped 5 sun dried tomatoes (used the kind packed in oil) 1 zucchini chopped 1 tablespoon dried thyme 3 tablespoons fresh grated parmesan ~ 12 small basil leaves sliced width-wise I sauteed the carrots and onions together first, then added the rice and followed the rest of the recipe as instructed. Carrots sweeted it up a bit and the basil should not be skipped - it added a really nice flavor. With constant stirring over medium heat, the risotto probably took about 30 minutes total to cook. My fiance liked it and I enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the next day. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I think the recipe skimps on instructions for exact risotto preparation. This was my first attempt at risotto and it came out a little chewy, a little crunchy. It was really salty! But it wasn't altogether too bad as an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe!! My husband and /i both loved it. I followed it very closely, with my only change being adding extra zucchini and adding 1 cup chianti (I was serving it with veal that was cooking in chianti) And after we ate it, I realized that I completely forgot to add the thyme. I will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I found this very salty and i did not add any salt at all. Next time i will use a low sodium chicken stock. It also takes longer than the 30 min estimated. At 30 min it is still a bit crunchy. Not sure if i would try this one again or not. It was okay. Just make sure you use low sodium broth.. it's easier to add salt than it is to take it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe!! I followed directions exactly; but used 1/2 teaspoon dried basil since I did not have fresh. Is definitely a keeper !! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States