Zucchini Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I adore risotto and to be honest, I thought that this was lacking. I love the concept of it but IMO, it needs MORE tomatoes, MORE basil, some SALT, and wine + butter like traditional risotto. The flavor was overall a little bland. Just using thyme and pepper doesn't really do it for me. Looking for the best risotto recipe ever? Try bacon and mushroom risotto. Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This risotto turned out amazing. I used leeks in place of the onion and used a full medium zucchini. Also we found that the basil "made" the dish. It was just good before but after adding the basil it was great. Thumbs way up from all my family. My seven year old is excited that there are leftovers for her to take to school tomorrow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very tasty and filling. Possibly a little on the salty side, but overall a really nice dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
The recipe was easy to follow and tasty, although the flavor was mild. I added salt as I cooked and my husband added more at the table. I'll use more thyme next time. I may also use a squeeze of lemon and/or some red pepper flakes to give it a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I would have liked this to be a bit more flavorful and creamy. If I try it again I might add a few tablespoons of butter towards the end. The sun dried tomatoes were a nice addition though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was my first time making Risotto and it was MUCH easier thank I expected. I halved the recipe and added several diced baby carrots to the onion mixture in the beginning (as suggested by another reviewer). I also used a sheeps milk cheese as I didn't have any parmesan on hand and it turned out delicious! Other reviewers have said the cheeseisn't necessary, but I tried the Risotto before and after adding the cheese and I think that it really adds to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Yummy! I made a special trip to the store to get sundried tomatoes. The one mistake I made was adding salt when I cooked the risotto. I forgot that the cheese and broth would add enough salt. I also had to look up how to "soften" the tomatoes (soaking them in hot water). This is good as is, but I could see adding any vegetables to suit. Will definitey make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanieLucy68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Hmmmm... I think I was looking for it to taste like the risotto at a restaurant I used to work for. It was my first attempt at risotto and the consistency and texture were great but I didn't love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was ok. I prefer a more traditional risotto made with more butter and wine. I found the thyme flavor to be overpowering. Really the only saving grace for this recipe was the sun-dried tomatoes, they added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was a big hit tonight with my guests! It was easy to prepare. I added 1/4 cup of white wine to the rice and let it cook down before adding the the chicken stock. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States