Zucchini Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This risotto recipe was okay. I wasn't crazy about the sun-dried tomato flavor paired with the zucchini. This is great as a base recipe to add whatever mix-ins you prefer but on its own, it's nothing amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
When cooking arborio rice you have to commit to stirring a lot. If you have the time to do that then this dish is definitely worth it. I despise sun dried tomatoes and so I skipped them, I added red pepper instead. I also added a summer squash in addition to the zucchini. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Used large chicken broth and a chicken broth that was already flavored with spices and white wine. Used 2 Zucchini and double the Basil and tomatoes. Used 8TBS Parm Cheese. Added Rot. Chicken -that I allowed to simmer in the pot full of simmering broth. I also added a steam basket for a few min and let the Zucchini steam in the broth at the beginning so that they woule be partially cooked. My husband who doesn't even like rice loved this. My kids ate it ( after they picked out the tomatoes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pixie5008
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Really liked this recipe, even though it was a little time and effort intensive. We ran out of chicken stock and so used some wine and think it made a nice touch. We also added chicken. Great flavor and very filling. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I did not have sun dried tomato, but I added a TBS of lemon juice. It turned out delicious. The lemon juice really brought out the taste of zucchini. I used Parmesan cheese and also added a little bit of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This recipe got great reviews out of my very picky clan. The only changes I made were 1) I had to add more broth and 2) I excluded the tomatoes b/c I'm the only one in my house that likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Flavor was wonderful, though I never got the creamy texture I was expecting even after playing around with the liquid. Perhaps I just need a little risotto making practice which is okay because I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Actually I give 4,5 stars. The recipe is good, but I realized zucchini (maybe it was my zucchini?) doesn`t give much flavor, otherwise sun-dried tomatoes, thyme and basil make a delicate and good combination. I used mozzarella and I think it doesn`t give much flavor too, just thickening. So maybe parmesan would work better. In whole, this is a good idea, but with modifications from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I used one carton of veggie broth and one carton of chicken broth. I didn't have any sun-dried tomatoes, so I chopped up a red pepper and threw those in with the onions. Went heavy on the basil and also threw in some roasted chicken breast that I had left over. I could eat this all day. Does take a lot of stirring, but on medium heat, I was able to walk away for a few minutes at a time and did not experience any burning at the bottom of the pan. I can see why the zucchini had to be thinly sliced because it only went in at the end. The thinness helped it cook fast, but if you want to rough chop it, throw it in a little earlier on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
We loved the flavor, and it was so filling! I added a lot more zucchini - 1 medium and one small - and thought it was great that way. I didn't slice it that thin with a peeler, but really liked the thicker pieces. Also added about 1/4 c cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States