Zucchini Ribbons With Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was just okay for us. I reduced the red pepper flakes a little to suit our tastes. I found the bites with the goat cheese to be the most flavorful; maybe I would have preferred to stir everything together to make some kind of goat cheese sauce instead of crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The recipe itself is okay, but I just found it to be a little bland (spicy, but not enough other flavor) and the texture of the zucchini ribbons was a little slimy for me. And I felt a little wasteful discarding the middle part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yowza, this was HOT! Next time I'll reduce the crushed red pepper flakes to a pinch, instead of .5 teaspoon; although the goat cheese was delish, the heat overtook us all, even hubster, who LOVES hot food. Will save with my notes, and I liked a new way to eat zukes without steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband and I are going low carb & gluten free and this side dish hit the spot as an accompaniment to an Italian chicken dish I make. I did use dried basil as opposed to fresh (seasonal thing) and parmesan cheese instead of goat (what I had on hand). My husband loved the heat that the red pepper flakes added; will definitely make this again. Thank you Sweet Basil for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great recipe. I have made it as stated and also in a alternate version. Sauteed zucchini with olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and shallot. Finished it off with a sprinkle of lemon juice and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Taking a smidge of liberty with this recipe, I created an amazing appetizer AND a main dish. Instead of breaking out the mandoline to make ribbons of the zucchini, I simply grated it then followed the rest of the cooking directions. I did add a hearty sprig of fresh thyme along with the shallots (fished it out before serving) as well as the submitter's recommended squeeze of lemon. Once finished, the squash took on a buttery, almost 'melty' quality without being overcooked and mushy. I served some atop toasted garlic-rubbed croistini with big Parmesan curls -- delicious. The remaining zucchini I mixed with cooked linguine (plus a bit of the pasta water to make a bit saucier) and topped with the fresh basil and goat cheese -- Wow. I'm now eyeing the two zucchini that are ~almost~ ready to be picked from the garden... Thanks so much SweetBasil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I did have to substitute dried basil for fresh. I'm not sure how much difference it would have made to have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I added vegetarian soy "chicken". My (non-vegetarian) husband loved this, (but my kids didn't. Goat cheese melts fast, so wait until RIGHT before you serve it to make it taste the best. I also carmelized walnuts and added at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was very tasty. To us, the red pepper flakes contributed an essential flavor & piquancy. I made it as written, except I had to substitute a mixture of minced onion & extra garlic for the shallots. (I made this before SweetBasil, the recipe's submitter, wrote about the use of onions ~ I'm glad to know that was an intended option.) I cooked 4 cups of ribboned mature zucchinis in a large cast iron skillet. My zucchini dish never became watery (the broth evaporated quickly) - perhaps due to the use of mature zucchini and/or the skillet's heat retention & diameter. Nice to have another way to prepare zucchini with a different flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States