Zucchini Raspberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very tasty cupcakes. For those worried, you can not taste the zucchini at all. I did have to cook mine a little longer, but believe it is my oven. Very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Pretty good. I love raspberries and zucchini so it couldn't go wrong for me. The raspberries didn't have to be fresh, frozen worked fine. My frosting didn't turn out though so next time it may be 5 star for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawksmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These were great. They aren't quite chocolate-y enough for us, though. Next time I'll add about 50% more cocoa and chips. I made mini bread loaves with this too. They took about 40 min. to bake. A great recipe to use up the raspberries and zucchini in our freezer from last summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I really liked these. And with zucchini season coming up, I'm always looking for recipes that incorporate it! (And I couldn't taste the zucchini at all, btw.) I didn't have any buttermilk, so I added a 1/2 T of vinegar to the milk, and let it stand a few minutes. It's a good substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These are very good and a great way to get some healthy fruits & veggies in kids. I used 1 cup freshly ground white whole wheat, somewhere between 1/3 cup and 1/2 cup of cocoa,about 1.5 - 1.75 C frozen raspberries, and slightly lesss sugar & chocolate chips than called for. They don't need frosting, we're eating them as chocolate muffins. They'll be great tossed in lunchboxes. If frosted, I would go with maybe a sweetened whipped cream piped inside of them. The only downside is the raspberry seeds stuck in my teeth. Oh well! I will definitely make these again. Update: Made again, increasing the ww flour to 1/2, and replacing 1/2 C of the butter with plain greek yogurt. Also threw in a handful of old fashioned oats. They're great! I made mini muffins, cooking them 12 minutes. These will be regulars at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Sturdy but moist, not too sweet brownie-like cupcake studded with a delicious combination of fresh raspberries and gooey chocolate chips in every bite. I completely forgot there was zucchini in them! Taken to nirvana frosted with "Buttercream Icing" (flavored with almond extract) also from this site. I tasted one "for rating and review purposes" and then I had to get me out of the kitchen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Just made a batch of these to serve to hungry kids after swimming lessons tomorrow and they are SOOOOO good! I increased the amount of cocoa to almost 1/2 a cup and the amount of raspberries to almost 2 cups (so there would be berries in each one). I think there could have been less chocolate chips...3/4 a cup would have been plenty with everything else going on. You can not taste the zuchinni at all but they are super moist. I'm sure they would be great with some frosting or whipped cream but they are really more like a muffin than a cupcake and are excellent with no topping at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
more chocolatey than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myeclecticmind
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These cupcakes are wonderful. My kids loved them, moist and lots of flavor. I made a cream cheese frosting and a chocolate fudge frosting. The raspberries give this cupcake a great flavor along with the chocolate. quick tip for frosting... I used my electric cookie press and the decorating was done in no time! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myeclecticmind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardiner, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Delicious cupcakes. I know other reviewers have made this point as well, but you can't even tell there is zucchini in these cupcakes. The chocolate raspberry combination is amazing. I topped these with cream cheese frosting, which was the perfect compliment. Perfectly moist, great flavor, wonderful cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States